top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - Lily Rose Threads


Today we are going to get to know Katie, the maker behind Lily Rose Threads. Katie makes beautiful custom embroidery hoops. If you are looking for the perfect addition to any of your upcoming gift giving look no further!


Do you have kids? If so how many & age?  I have two girls. 3 years old and my youngest turns 1 this week.

What's one thing people probably don't know about you? Ha probably everything, I just started out this little business and haven’t really had the time to share many personal details. One thing might be that I like lists. Lists for everything. Lists for lists. I write a list for the day every morning, and one usually for the week. It is my favourite stress management tool. If anyone here follows Mrs. Hinch, I also love her “ta da” lists. After a crazy day when you feel like you haven’t stopped but also accomplished nothing – there’s nothing more satisfying than reflecting on the little things you did accomplish by writing them down.

What is your favourite thing to do for yourself? Cross stitch and embroidery! It started as a creative outlet and way to relax in the evenings. My second daughter was very challenging for the first little while and stitching was comforting, relaxing – like yoga or meditation can be. I love that it’s growing into this side project, and I still set aside time to stitch things just for me.

What is your favourite date night activity? For a date night out – my husband and I have just recently moved away from the North End of Hamilton and our favourite nights were heading to the newest restaurant on James St, eating the best food prepared by some of the best people. There was a time you’d have a hard time naming a restaurant we hadn’t tried! But moving out of the city and two kids has made it a little more difficult. We now enjoy our date nights in, campfires and a bottle of wine after the kids go to bed.

What's one thing you couldn't live without? My ability to create. I have always loved being “crafty”. Whether through sewing, decorating, DIY projects or now embroidery, I have always loved to create something new. Creating my kids is probably the best project I’ve endeavoured and obviously don’t want to live without them either.

Who's your IG inspiration? I am – by far, no competition – Jillian Harris’ biggest fan. If I had all the time in the world, I would bore you with dozens of examples of how we live parallel lives. Though, hers is much more glamorous. Leo cuts a tooth? My kid cuts a tooth. Accidentally re-ends someone in a parking lot? Guess what I did the day before. Going camping for the weekend? Just finished packing the family car. Plus, she makes it all look so much better than my life!

What advice would you give your younger self: Its not so much advice as it is just a statement: “You have NO idea what the words “tired” or “busy” mean”. Oh and “be nicer to your mom”.

How did you choose the name for your business? My girls’ names are Lillian and Madelyn Rose. I chose the word “threads” to allow myself to grow and include other textile creations.

How do you balance having kids & running a business? This is all still very new, but I do try to get out with the in the mornings and do something for them. We frequent all the toddler hotspots before lunch. Then the afternoon nap time, and the time after they are in bed for the night I can devote to stitching, etc.

Where can people find your products? Right now, my hoops are available from my Etsy shop, or by directly messaging me on Instagram. As well, I have most of my hoops available for sale at The Girl Floral Shop in Cambridge.

What sets your business apart from others alike? I am trying my best to only use repurposed fabrics. This can include scraps from sewing projects, old linens (table clothes, bed sheets, etc.) donated from others or found in thrift shops. I also am known to raid all hoops/thread available in any thrift store. This is not always 100% achieved (like I totally bought some new sparkle thread for Christmas hoops) but I do try to buy second hand whenever possible.

What is the most challenging part of running your business? Overcoming the fear of putting your art out there is by far the most challenging part. Sure, kids are a pain as far as time management goes, but that first listing, the first post – can be terrifying. The overwhelming messages of support have been more than I could have expected! With every order and review, that confidence grows. #fakeittilyoumakeit

What does a typical day look like for you? We’ve actually found a really good groove the last few weeks. I mentioned before I like to dedicate the mornings to the kids. We have a slow breakfast and always get out of the house. Libraries, parks, visits with family or friends. Then, after lunch when they nap, I have a few hours to work. And I am very lucky to have two kids who like their sleep (I know – I am not supposed to say that out loud) So my evenings are also a great time to watch some Netflix and stitch.

Favourite song: Anything Arkells or Frank Turner. That time they toured together? My life was completed. Dream Vacation: I much prefer a cottage, lake and campfire to a sun destination. Favourite Book: I am of the Harry Potter decade, so they will always be my favourite. Dream Job: I have loved this side project so much lately! But my favourite “job” I ever held was working at a farmer’s market – and if I could do that forever I probably would. Favourite Podcast: I prefer audio books to podcasts, love them when I am stitching! I am working through the Outlander series right now! Headphones are a must with kids around :D Favourite Smell: Campfires! But also, I just got this new laundry soap – Almond Blossom from the refill store in town and it is AH-mazing. Dream meal: One of the best meals I ever had was at The Heather, so saving all my pocket change to be able to dine there again. Favourite item of clothing: my jean jacket. I will wear that baby all year long, I will freeze in the winter and overheat in the summer – thankfully fall is here soon so I can at least wear it comfortably!


@Camara.Crew Stamp of Approval:

What I love about Katie's custom embroidery hoops is there are so many ways that you can use them! Whether you are purchasing something custom for your home, as a baby shower gift or using them as tags for Christmas presents the opportunities are endless. They add the most unique touch to your home or a gift you may be putting together for a loved one.


Initially when I chose to get the "hey pumpkin" design I was going to use it as part of my regular fall decor. Then when it arrived I knew exactly where I wanted to put it, in Mason's room on his new shelf! He truly is my little pumpkin so it fits perfectly and adds a subtle pop of colour to his monochrome room!


Katie's work is beautiful and her attention to detail is amazing. You can tell when you see her product in person how passionate she is and appreciate the time it takes to make something so beautiful and unique. I highly reccomend checking our her Etsy page and keeping her in mind when purchasing gifts for this upcoming Holiday season.



29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page