top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Purple Pen Editing



I have always loved writing but one thing I have never been good at is editing my own work. I mean who really is? I think it is really helpful to have someone edit your work before you publish it, get a fresh set of eyes looking at it and I am sure they will always find something. When I was in highschool and university my poor mother edited all of my papers! Looking back now she was a saint for doing it as I realize how much work it was for her, and probably boring too! I wish I had known someone like April from @purplepenedit back then so I could have given my mom a break.


I had the pleasure of meeting April while attending @mindfulyogimomma Mom and Tot Yoga Class. April and her two little boys are always fun to hang out with! When I heard she was starting a business I knew I wanted to work with her. Thankfully, she offered to look at some pieces from my blog; Mason's 6 Month Update and my homepage of my blog. I couldn't believe the feedback she gave. Some of it was small things like punctuation. However, she also took the time to look at my grammar and make suggestions about how I was phrasing something which was very helpful .Looking at her feedback has allowed me some insight on what I should be trying to look for regularly in my posts.


So I thought, what better than to have April share some tips and tricks with all of you on how to edit your work and things to watch for! It is always good to be mindful of what we are doing. And who knows, your kiddos may be asking you to help edit their work for school like I did with my mom! First let's get to know April a bit and then she will share her tips with us!


 




I have been an avid reader all my life. I love getting to peek into another person’s brain. I love that language connects us and that clear writing can create whole worlds or connect people who have never met. In university I studied languages and afterwards I began teaching adults English as a Second Language. I loved the people and learned so much about the writing process. I later transitioned into English language testing. I began editing as a way to keep my

skills sharp and be able to help people improve their writing.




I am a mom of two boys; Gunner is almost 4 years old and JJ is 20 months. These boys keep me on my toes and give me so many new challenges as a mom. I began Purple Pen Editing because I want to help people improve their writing and support their development. I want to help moms get back into the work force with fantastic resumes and cover letters that highlight their skills. I want mompreneurs to be able to focus on their business goals and not worry whether their message is clear and error-free.


The most common question I get is, why the Purple Pen? Purple is the colour of creativity,

ambition and compassion. It is associated with calming the mind and nerves while uplifting our

energy. That is my goal for everyone I work with. I want them to feel supported, I want to

encourage their creativity, nurture their ambition and support their work with a compassionate

heart.


Writing Tips:

While I do share writing tips from time to time on my Instagram and Facebook (linked below), here are a few tings to keep in mind whenever you are writing.

1. Say what you mean and mean what you say. Your message is the reason you are

writing. So don’t try to use words or phrases that you don’t mean to sound ‘better’. Your

reader wants to hear what you think and feel, so tell them!

2. Keep it Simple. The reader shouldn’t have to try very hard to understand your message.

Simple sentences that are to the point are key.

3. Use a spell checker. Whether on your phone, computer, or tablet all devices have

spellcheck available. There is no shame in using it and it will help you avoid typos and

errors getting in the way of your message.

4. Common errors. The most common errors to watch for are the misuses of

there/their/they’re or then/than or your/you’re.

5. Have some read it. It can be a parent, a partner, a colleague or an editor but having

another pair of eyes review your writing is the best way to see if your message is clear

and error-free.


April Barlow

Purple Pen Editing @purplepenedit https://thepurplepen.ca/ Facebook: Purple Pen Editing


Be sure to head on over to @purplepenedit to enter this amazing Top to Toe Mother's Day Giveaway



26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page