top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Canadian Heritage Warplane Museum




I think we have officially found a hidden gem in the City of Hamilton; the Canadian Warplane Museum. I cannot believe how many people I talk to and they say they have no idea that we have such an amazing museum in our city. If you are looking for historical, fun and kid-friendly environment the Canadian Warplane Museum is the place to be.


The Canadian Warplane Heritage Museum checked a lot of things off my "mom approved" checklist:





1. Lovely staff and volunteers - I learned so much while we were there! All of the volunteers are just itching to talk to you about the history behind each plane and the items inside of the museum. I will be honest I am not one to enjoy talking about history but I enjoyed talking to the volunteers there and learned a lot. They are more than happy to walk around the museum with you and give you a tour or just chat about certain planes and items. One thing that I learned and thought was really neat is that a lot of the planes in the museum are actually still in service. They also do all of the work on the planes in the museum which is really cool to see.


2. The entire museum is kid-friendly. Almost all of the exhibits can be easily seen by a 2.5 year old without assistance. They have airplanes that you can actually sit in and what kid does not love that! They love lots of different photo props for kids to have fun with. They also have a flight simulator where you stand on a mat and move your body around and you control a plane on a TV, Lily loved that one! Also, parents there is A TON of room for your kiddos to run free! When we went, there were 2 classes on a school trip and you wouldn't have known they were even there. It is also stroller friendly.

3. It is fun for the adults too! There is also a lot of fun to be had for the parents. I find that a lot of times when I am going out with my kids that the places we are going to are more geared towards their entertainment. What I love about the warplane museum is that it is fun for both the adults and children. My husband, Chris really enjoyed trying out the virtual reality air plane they had. AND IT IS FREE! Yes I said it, FREE! We couldn't believe it. Chris was raving about it for days afterwards to everyone we talked to.

4. FREE PARKING! There is nothing that irritates me more than having to pay for parking and when there is minimal parking. You do not have to worry about that when you go to the museum. There is LOTS of free parking on site.


One thing I thought was really cool was they take Canadian Dollar Money donations. Inside the museum they have a box that you can put your Canadian Tire Money inside and they use it to purchase tools and equipment to fix the airplanes. What a great idea! A lot of the time I throw out my Canadian Tire money because I never remember it when I go inside and don't shop there often enough. So, if you have some Canadian Tire Money laying around head on over to the museum and drop it off.


Have you ever been to the warplane museum? What was one of your favourite parts about the museum?




Website: https://www.warplane.com/

Youtube: CWHMuseum

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page