top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Christmas Gift Guide - Adults



For me shopping for some of the adults in my life has to be the hardest. There are people like my mom who are easy to shop for, but other like my husband who sometimes I feel clueless what to get! Even though you'd think he would be one of the easier people on my list.


For me, I hate buying something just for the sake of buying. I want to make sure what I am gifting anyone is something that is useful, meaningful and worthwhile. Otherwise, why spend the money on it.


Over the years, personally I've become fond of experience gifts. Especially now as a mom I would rather someone gift me an evening of babysitting so my husband and I can go on a date night, or a gift certificate for a massage or mani pedi. Something that I typically wouldn't gift to myself.


So if you are looking for some gift ideas for those hard to scratch off adults on your list here are some tips:


  1. Keep a list throughout the year when hints are dropped for gift ideas. Often time my husband drops hints of things he wants, without even realizing it. I will add it to my list on my phone so I don't forget it when the time comes

  2. Purchase a mutual gift - what I mean by that is think about if there is something you and your spouse, family member or friend have always wanted to do. Whether it's a renovation to your home, a trip etc. and then spend the money you would on gifting on that instead

  3. Ask the person what they want. I know sometimes that takes the fun out of it but if you want a guarantee gift win, its the best way


Here are some great gift ideas:


Custom Ornaments or Party Box These two items can be so much fun. Whether it is a custom name ornament, if someone you know recently purchased a house, or got engaged or married there are so many ways that Curated by Carolyn can help you customize your ornament! Carolyn also makes amazing party supply boxes that would make a great hostess gift for all your upcoming holiday parties.


Matching Clothes I know for me, when I had kids matching with my minis was something I was so excited about. A Life She Loves offers options for moms, dads, kids and baby's to customize your clothing! This would make a great gift for a family and you can check off multiple people on your list. Use code CAMARA10 for a discount.


Experiences

Yes this is a trend throughout all my gift guides. But I honestly feel this is the #1 gift you can give to an adult. I always look up concerts and other events happening in the months following Christmas to gift to family members. Some that I've gifted are tickets to sporting events, Cirque Du Soleil, concerts, weekend getaways and more. It is also a great gift that you can go in on with other people as well to cut down the cost a bit.


Self-Care

If you are looking for the perfect gift for a mom or a woman I can guarantee that most women are not indulging in self-care so treat them to some! Who am I kidding, anyone would enjoy some self-care regardless who you are! Offer to babysit, get them a gift certificate for a massage, facial etc. There are so many options. If you are looking for another idea you could put together a self-care package that include bath and body products, new sleepwear or slippers, gift certificate to buy some new clothes, cigars, scratch tickets, etc.


I think when it comes to gifting something to an adult we make it more difficult that it needs to be. We over think things and second guess ourselves. Ultimately, most people will be happy with being gifted something because a lot of the time I don't think adults expect anything so its nice to receive a surprise and thoughtful gift.


What are some of your favourite gifts that you've been given as an adult? What is on your wish list this year?




14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page