top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Dunk Dunk Went Kermit the Frog One Day: Kids Swimming Lessons 101


One activity that I wanted to make sure I did with both of my kids from an early age was swimming lessons. Lily we started in swimming lessons when she was 5 months old and she has completed Parent and Tot Level 1, 2 and 3. Mason started swimming lessons when he was 9 months old due to my having surgery we had to wait and is almost finished Parent and Tot 1. While I think learning how to swim is a very important skill I genuinely love going to swimming lessons with the kids. I always have so much fun with them in the pool and find it very relaxing. It is not an activity where you have to overly exert yourself and I find both the kids and I leave feeling relaxed. There's also nothing cuter than a little babe in a bathing suit!


I wanted to share some tips and tricks with you in case you've been shying away from swim lessons for some reason. It can seem overwhelming the thought of dressing yourself and your baby, getting into the pool and then getting you both dressed and ready to head back home. It can be a workout I won't lie but there are somethings you can do to make it easier.


Tip 1: Wear your bathing suit to the pool

I always wear my bathing suit underneath my clothes to the pool. It saves me one step of having to get ready and lets me focus on Mason or Lily when we get to the pool. I also wear something that is easy to take off and put on like a dress or a romper so I am not trying to put on multiple layers of clothing. If your swimming lessons aren't far from the house you could also dress your child in their swimming gear. I've done that with Mason a few times because the pool is 10 minutes from our house.


Tip 2: Bring a toy to distract them

Having something handy when you are trying to get dressed after swimming lessons and are trying to get your kiddo dressed to distract them is super helpful. Pack one or 2 small toys that you know will work long enough to get you dressed.


Tip 3: Bring in your car seat

If your child is still in the bucket seat I recommend bringing it into the change room with you. After lessons are complete dress your child first and put them right into the car seat. That way they are secured while you get dressed and you aren't worrying about chasing them around. If you don't want to do this another trick is you can use the change pad and strap them down while you get changed.


Tip 4: Pick a swim time right before nap or bed time

I always did my best to pick a swim time right before nap or bed time. Swimming is so relaxing and usually will make kids quite tired. I would bring a bottle or food along with me, feed the kids before we left the pool and then they would fall asleep on the way home.


Tip 5: Bring extra hands!

If your spouse, friend, grandparents whoever are available to come help you let them! Use the family washroom and then they can come in and help you get your child dressed while you get dressed after class.


Here is a small checklist of items to make sure you pack in your swimming bag: Another tip is to pack your swimming bag the day before so you aren't rushing

  • bathing suit for child

  • bathing suit for you

  • hair brush

  • q tips to clean out ears after swimming

  • baby soap to wash them down afterwards

  • towels

  • toy for distraction

  • pajamas for after swimming (if bedtime)

  • swimming diaper

  • regular diapers

  • clothes for you - make sure if you are going in your bathing suit that you bring your bra and underwear in your bag

I hope these tricks help make taking your kids to swimming a bit easier :)

Are there any tips or tricks that have really worked for you?


780 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page