top of page
  • Cassie Camara

I AM by Kelsie Josephs


Meet Kelsie, the amazing women behind the book "My I Am Song". Kelsie is a local children's author working to spread love and light, empowering our kids to know that they all have the power they need within. Kelsie also has some amazing side projects such as a clothing line and a market that she runs. And of course some more inspirational and amazing projects in the works - so stay tuned!


Do you have kids? If so how many & age? 

No Kids

What's one thing people probably don't know about you?

That I was born in Jamaica!!!

What is your favourite thing to do for yourself?

Empower myself. Whether that be through affirmations, time for myself, jamming out to a song in the car. Raising my vibration in any way that I can.

What is your favourite date night activity?

It just depends. I really enjoy going for dinner / to a Leaf's game with my man, but staying home and cuddling on the couch is just as fun when we are in the mood to relax and kick back.

What's one thing you couldn't live without? 

Coffee hehe. 

Who's your IG inspiration? 

I think as opposed to having a "person" or company who is an inspiration, I just like to look for inspiration through different avenues. A lot of time IG can be a very comparison oriented outlet so I try to find inspiration through various posts and things that interest me, as opposed to idolizing certain people or companies. 

What advice would you give your younger self

Hmmm... this is a tricky one! Just to love yourself through it all no matter what. But I wouldn't change a thing, as everything happens not just for a reason, but for greatness and I am so happy with my journey and where I am. 

What inspired you to write a book?

I've always wanted to create something that I could share, that was reflective of how I live my life and my personal journey. As a teacher, I see the importance and value in teaching these empowerment practices to CHILDREN, as they are so innately connected. Through my English degree, I have a natural predilection for writing and have always connected with sharing my thoughts in that way. I wanted to spread a message of love, awakening littles to the understanding that they are in charge of how they feel, especially about themselves. I wanted to enlighten them and help them reconnect and remember the power that they have within and how to love themselves truly!

What advice can you give someone looking to start up their own business? 

Find your passion and the rest will come. If you're looking to start up a business or even a project, it's so important to remember that passion and love needs to be the driving force. It will allow everything else to flow perfectly into your experience, because of the intention and connection behind it. 

What sets your business apart from others alike?

I will always come back to intention. Intention, is everything!

What does a typical day look like for you? 

There is literally NO typical day! Which is probably the best part. Still navigating and figuring it all out, in the most amazing of ways! Every day is very unique and right now I'm just learning to ride the wave and love that. Embracing every moment. 

Favourite song: I LOVE music. I don't know if I have a #1 favourite, but I definitely enjoy the throwback, "September" by Earth Wind and Fire lol! How funny. 

Dream Vacation: Fiji!!! (I don't know why, actually. I've just said this forever and so I'm very inclined to visit this beautiful place).

Favourite Book: Ask and it is Given - Esther Hicks (Abraham)  Dream Job: Inspiring others through love and light. Favourite Podcast: Right now? Hmm... probably "The Health Code". Favourite Smell: Freshly baked cookies. 



@Camara.Crew Stamp of Approval:


I had the pleasure of meeting Kelsie at a local reading during my mom and tot yoga class with @mindfulyogimomma. Kelsie is one of those people that you feel drawn to as soon as you walk into the room. She is friendly, inspirational and gracious. I felt like I had known her for years but it was our first time meeting. Kelsie joined in on our yoga class and then spent some quality time with the kid's teaching them about her I Am Song. Before Kelsie even started her reading the kids were drawn to her. Most of them joining her on her yoga mat and chatting away.


During her reading she easily engaged the kids of varying ages in her book. She asked them questions and kept them engaged throughout. Afterwards she did an I Am activity with them encouraging them to write their own I Am statement on a heart. Lily came over to me during the activity and asked me to help her -- as she obviously can't write yet. I asked her what she wanted me to write on her heart and she said "I AM STRONG" -- clearly someone was listening during Kelsie's reading as this was one of the I Am statements that she talked about. As Lily asked me to write "I Am Strong" she showed me her muscles. I smiled at her and told her that she definitely was strong and how proud of her I am.


Kelsie's book is a must have in anyone's library. It is a great book to help with positive messaging with your children and get them thinking while still being fun. It is one of those books that I feel we will come back to a lot in our life. Especially when my kids start school and facing some challenging times.


When I came home and read through the book again, it got me thinking about myself and my own I Am statements. There are a lot that popped into my head immediately;


I am a mom

I am a woman

I am a hot mess

I am exhausted


See a trend?


A lot of those statements aren't positive ones. Are these things that I would want Lily or Mason to be focusing on for themselves? Are these things that I should be focusing on? So it got me thinking about the importance of rephrasing my own I Am Statements. Some of them that I came up with were;


I am strong

I am resilient

I am creative

I am a good mother

I am a good wife

I am allowed to take time for myself


So today, I want you to think about your own I am statements. If you're having a hard time coming up with something ask a friend or loved one to help you. I am sure that they can come up with some amazing ways to finish you I AM statement. I hope you will share below.



51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page