top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Mama With a Mop


I really wish I could tell you that I am the Mama with a Mop however I am far from that. I have to say probably my least favourite thing and my weakest point is cleaning. I like to tidy things up and be organized. You want your stuff organized I am your girl. However, when it comes to scrubbing things down and cleaning that is my least favourite thing to do. The only cleaning chore that I don't mind so much is doing the dishes. Chris and I have a pretty sweet deal. He cooks and I clean up afterwards and that I can 100% handle. Since next to cleaning, cooking is my next least favourite thing to do! I know you can say it, I am the worst housewife ever! HAHA! and I am damn proud of it!


That's why I was extremely excited when Brittany from Mama With a Mop messaged me about collaborating. Brittney is the boss mama behind a Hamilton based cleaning company. Brittany strives to help other families and individuals reclaim their downtime and leave the cleaning to her. How amazing does that sound? Let me tell you the morning that Brittany was coming to clean at my home I woke up in the greatest mood! I was so excited that there was one less thing that I needed to worry about completing on my to do list. Which meant that I have more time to spend with my children. It was the most amazing feeling!


Let's get to know Brittany and you can see below my review & before/after photos!



Do you have kids? If so how many & age? Sure do! 3 boys- 7, 5 and 3!


What is your favourite thing to do for yourself? Eat cookies and watch Netflix


What is your favourite date night activity?

I’m classic- dinner and a movie is fantastic!

What's one thing you couldn't live without? Unfortunately I have to say my PHONEEEEE. I don’t know how we survived before smart phones.

What advice would you give your younger self.

Don’t be friends with bullies


Provide a description of your business Residential housekeeping, by someone who understands the craziness of parenthood and has a special heart for those with disabilities or who parent a child with disabilities.


Where is business located out of? Hamilton Ontario and surrounding area


How did you choose the name for your business? I’ve always gone by Mama and it was actually a random friend who came up with the name for me on a Facebook post polling my friends :)


How do you balance having kids & running a business? We are very lucky to be able to have my husband stay home to take care of the fort while I work away. I also love the flexibility my own business provides in scheduling around any family activities or appointments ️


What advice can you give someone looking to start up their own business?

Research! Research everything, take classes on marketing and finances and definitely check out the Small Business Enterprise Centre which is there JUST to help you succeed!

What sets your business apart from others alike? I try my hardest to make life flexible for my clients. I work with them individually to make sure we can work together and help their families strive!


What is the most challenging part of running your business?

Paperwork I admit it- I am actually terribly disorganized in the office.


What is your favourite place to clean & least favourite? My favourite is the bathroom, the stark differences that can happen always amaze me!

My least favourite is blinds!!


Coffee or tea? tea Neutral or colourful? neutral Morning or night? night Wine or beer? neither Starbucks or tims? Tim’s Online shopping or in store? oh online for sure Instagram or facebook? Facebook Text or phone call? texting!


Instagram: @mamawithamop


@Camara.Crew Stamp of Approval:

I could not get over what an amazing job Brittany did. Her cleaning is superb I honestly cannot say enough good things about her and the job she did. She came into my home and was easy to talk to. However, she got right to work and completed the task in a timely fashion. Brittany cleaned my downstairs kitchen and the floors in my downstairs living room and playroom. I figured this was the best area for Brittany to spend her time as it is where the kids and I hang out most. Since moving into our new home it has desperately needed a deep clean! Especially the kitchen. Prior to us moving in I cleaned all the cupboards and wiped everything down but I was desperately wishing someone would come in and do a deep clean on the basement area. I am always so paranoid with having the kids playing and in these areas that it is dirty for them. I am sure a lot of you moms can relate that cleaning is not an easy task with kids around. Lily loves to help which is great but can make the task lengthy especially if she is trying to make a mess of everything I just cleaned. And Mason still needs so much of my attention I only have short time frames to get big tasks done. I am the type of person that once I start a task I want to finish. If I am interrupted I find it hard to get back into the groove of things. So needless to say I was excited for Brittany to tackle these 3 areas.

When Brittany first arrived and started cleaning the kids and I hung out in the basement and stayed out of her way. Brittany had no issues with the kids being around and all the cleaning supplies she used were safe for them. After a while we decided to head upstairs because to be honest, watching Brittany clean inspired me to want to clean other areas of my house. I also wanted to be surprised with how everything looked after Brittany was done. When I came downstairs to see the completed job my draw dropped to the floor. I immediately text my husband photos and told him how amazing the kitchen looked! I couldn't wait for him to come home and see for himself. Brittany's attention to detail was amazing. She took the nobs of the stove, washed the drawers of the stove, cleaned any remaining dishes I had lying around and so much more. There wasn't an inch of the kitchen that wasn't touched by her magical cleaning skills! And to top it off she cleaned the floors in the kitchen, living room and playroom and they all looked amazing! I had tears of joy in my eyes because how great everything looked but also at the relief I was feeling from having to do it myself.


I would highly recommend contacting Brittany to get your home cleaned. Whether you are looking for a fresh start for the new year, you are moving into a new home, listing your existing home or expecting a new bundle of joy there are so many reasons to contact Brittany! Trust me when I say you won't regret it. Brittany even has a special Newborn Bundle collaborating with two of my other favourite Hamilton Small Shops @munchingmonsterchewlery and @mylittlebeanshop.

I have to say though, have you ever had someone come in to professionally clean your house? And if so, did you feel the need to tidy up/clean before they came in? I 100% felt this way and afterwards I felt so silly about it.


Pictures below are before & after of my home. I saw the biggest change in my stove. The others were difficult to photograph. Left is before, right is after.


The remainder of these photos are all from after Brittany cleaned



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page