top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - Art of Movement

Updated: Jan 8, 2021


Meet Kate the owner of Art of Movement. Kate sells Premium cotton Turkish towels and blankets that are hand made in Turkey. They are the softest towels you'll ever own and amazing quality. Kate works directly with a family owned business and loves everything about the towels especially how versatile they are. The towels can be used for a beach towel. bath towel. bed throw, couch throw, scarf, shawl, yoga mat, baby blanket, nursing cover you name it. They are lightweight, quick drying, antibacterial and pack up super compacts so are a traveler’s best friend.

Do you have kids? If so how many & age? I have 3 kids age 17 (Zoë), 15 (Téa) and 9 (Liam) What's one thing people probably don't know about you? I play hockey and love it. Have since I was 10 and as person who has taught yoga and Pilates and owner heath businesses for years this always comes as a shock to people haha Are you a stay at home mom? I am currently running my business from home! Online through my website so I can still drop off and pick up kids as needed! My husband works away from home so it's me most of the time solo with the kids.


What is your favourite thing to do for yourself? Go for a walk in nature and then have a bath… Best thing ever! What is your favourite date night activity? Night time dates are all about good food and maybe an activity (hubby and I are all about having fun doing activities bowling, swimming, rock climbing) and day dates are all about adventure. My perfect date would be hiking up a mountain and having a picnic around sunset with a view! What's one thing you couldn't live without? Avocados lol… but probably more realistic my family! Who's your IG inspiration? I'm inspired to share outdoor living and adventure mixed with beautiful towels! I literally have so many towels and blankets we use for the outdoors. I like things airy and soft looking and hope people feel inspired by my content! What advice would you give your younger self?… I would tell my self that I am worthy of all my dreams. Where is business located out of? I have a website www.artofmovement.ca which is a business I run out of my home in the Okanagan/Shuswap of BC, but I also sell out of stores and am currently growing my retail side of things. How did you choose the name for your business? Art Of Movement is a representation of me. I taught Pilates, Yoga and Barre for 15 years and think that we should be moving everyday and have things in our life that work with movement. I came up with the name after wanting to create some business around adventure and movement. The logo and name just felt right. The three mountains in the logo represent my 3 children and a place I plan to move to that has three mountain ranges around the town. Mountains are my happy place, where I feel free and alive, connected to nature and source. The circle at the top represents the sun rising or setting symbolizing movement forward each day and a reminder that each day we will have a new day. The logo also spells out my business name, AOM, the big mountain is the A the sun is the O and the little mountains are the M. The whole logo is a representation of me, my family and my passion. How do you balance having kids & running a business? This is hard and actually something I am working on in the background is coaching women in business who are moms on how to be both mom and business owner. To be honest I have always juggled this as our first daughter was born when I was 19 and I started small businesses from home so that I didn’t have to do daycare etc. When my second daughter was born I bought into a business that would lead me on a 10 year path to growing and expanding a company into 3 different cities and upwards of 30 employees. My husband was a huge part of me being able to do this as he did the stay at home dad thing while I was working and creating. So I guess this has always been my reality and my kids have always had a mom who runs businesses so we have created that relationship since the beginning. I try really hard to work when the kids are at school and play when they are home. Its definitely does not always work out that way as some days are longer then others but there is a beauty in being able to work on your business and include your kids in it too. Where can people find your products? Easiest place is the website www.artofmovement.ca What advice can you give someone looking to start up their own business? Oh man, do I have an hour lol!! Go for it. I truly believe that business is a good mix of passion and strategy. It's both having a vision and a plan, but passion and energy is what will take you to the top! Get a coach, and make sure you invest in yourself because you are the business. Honestly my biggest level ups in business has been when I invested in growth and coaching. Also research research research! Know what you offer and make sure you can create a good clear mission statement and plan for your business. Follow like minded people, see what people are doing and then go out and do your own thing! Stay in your lane and know who you are as a business so you can find your own unique voice in your industry! There maybe more businesses like you but there is only one you! What sets your business apart from others alike? Quality! I pay fare prices to my supplier and know the quality of my product is bar none. I have towels that are 5 years old and they look new and are amazing. I respect our earth and want to only provided a product that will last years and not end up in the land fill, think slow fashion and long term commitment! I truly know that what I sell is the best! What is the most challenging part of running your business? Probably that people want cheap fashion. Lot's of people would rather pay less even if the product is less quality. and I never plan to sell cheap so I’ll attract my tribe and that will be amazing. What does a typical day look like for you? I generally wake up at 6am, do my morning routine, tea, chill, school prep for the kids, Then get the kids to school and hit the social media train. Emails, social media etc all happen before 12 hopefully. Then is dog walks, friend connections or mom lunch date and shipping and connecting with stores or doing photos for content. I have till 2pm before my son is home, so I try really hard to be doe work by then so the evening is all about helping the kids and being their taxi driver lol. I try and move my body everyday with either spin, yoga, Pilates or just a home workout too. I'm in bed by 9pm easily ever day lol. 37 year old granny over here! Favourite song: Currently (this changes so much!)No one's in the room- Jessie Reyez Dream Vacation: New Zealand with my hubby Favourite Book: Three day road- Joseph Boyden Dream Job: Adventure influencer, when people start paying me to travel I have got it made lol Favourite Podcast: from the heart with yoga girl Dream Car: Subaru outback or Toyota Tacoma (I have both haha) Favourite Smell: spring Dream meal: Fresh sushi on the beach in Hawaii (my fave by far!) Favourite item of clothing: Turkish towels of course lol



Here is my advice for any new parent or parents getting ready to purchase items for a new baby - DO NOT purchase baby towels from big box stores they last about 5 minutes because babes grow so quickly and are poor quality. Instead, invest in in one of these Art of Movement towels for your new baby because they are so versatile. Whether you need a bath towel, a nursing cover, a blanket on the go or a scarf for yourself these towels can be used in so many different ways. They are beautiful, high quality, wash and wear really well and are SO SOFT! What I love though is that they will grow with your children. Violet is 10 months old and these towels are perfect to bundle her up in after her bath. But I can also use them with Lily and Mason (2.5 and 4.5 years old) and there is lots of room for them to bundle up after bath time too! I've always used them as a hair towel for me and love how light weight they are. I know we will be taking our new towels on many adventures with our family and can't wait to use them more.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page