top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - Baby D Cakes



Meet Julie, the maker behind Baby D Cakes Canada. Julie makes pretty and practical diaper cakes for any upcoming arrival or new family. When you see the photos of Julie's work in her photographs and in person you won't want to take it apart! It is one of those pieces that you can easily display in your home/nursery. Julie takes the time to design something modern and individual to each person's style and event so you want to make it apart of your home décor.

When reading Julie's answers to the questions I loved her honesty and wit! Especially when it comes to her favourite date night activity. I am with you girl!



Do you have kids? If so how many & age?

Yes, one girl who is 2 years old.


What's one thing people probably don't know about you?

I’m extremely shy, despite appearing to have an outgoing personality.


Are you a stay at home mom?

No, I work full time, but my girl loves daycare, so I don’t feel guilty.


What is your favourite thing to do for yourself?

Make a cup of coffee and snuggle up with a book



What's one thing you couldn't live without?

Aside from the obvious, my lip balm


What's your favourite date night activity?

I’m a Mom, sleeping is my favourite date night activity lol.


Where is business located out of? & what's your favourite thing to do in your hometown?

We’re based out of Brooklin and love meeting up with friends at Grass Park, for ‘Music in the Park’ night. Lots of people, puppies, kids, and ice cream!


How did you choose the name for your business?

We always sang the “Baby D Drops” song to our daughter when we gave her a vitamin D drop in the morning. My husband named the company, and the “D” now stands for ‘Diaper.’


How do you balance having kids & running a business?

We’re very lucky our daughter sleeps well through the night (knock on wood), so my evenings are dedicated to creating.


What sets your business apart from others alike?

Our diaper cakes hold up to modern home décor and Pinterest inspired baby showers. We create each diaper cake mindfully, knowing that many of our cakes are on display in the baby’s nursery before they’re used.


Coffee or tea? Coffee

Neutral or colourful? Neutral

Morning or night? Morning

Wine or beer? Wine

Starbucks or Tim Hortons? Starbucks

Online shopping or in store? Online

Instagram or Facebook? Instagram

Text or phone call? Text


Upcoming Shows: Mamas and Chick Show November 28, 2018 in North Oshawa at Sikorski Hall




@Camara.Crew Stamp of Approval:

When I first saw pictures of Julie's diaper cakes on Instagram I was blown away by her creativity and originality. Then I received a personalized diaper cake for Mason and I couldn't believe my eyes. Julie asked me a few simple questions before creating our diaper cake, none of which gave away what she was going to create so I was totally surprised when it arrived. However, she totally nailed it! We are doing a monochrome theme in Mason's nursery so it fits perfectly & I love the added touch of the "C" on the front for Camara of course. Or cutie! Cause I am sure Mason is going to be the cutest thing ever! I also really liked her door hanger that she included. Very clever and on the back outlines what is included in cake. There are 50 diapers in the cake that we got. I think this would make a PERFECT gift for anyone who is expecting!


If you worried about delivery of the item as she does ship them here is my review. The package arrived within 24 hours of it being shipped which is great! It came in a cardboard box and the diaper cake was inside wrapped in cellophane and a ribbon on top. When I took it out of the box the presentation was great. There was some slight shifting of the diapers and one of the leaves had moved from the top of the cake so I just removed the cellophane and fixed it up. Took less then 5 minutes to do and it would be easy to rewrap it in cellophane if you were gifting it. I was very please with how it arrived for being shipped.


I am always looking for new and unique gifts for new baby's! What are some of your favourite baby gifts that you have received or given? Have you ever tried to make a diaper cake? How did it go?

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page