top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - Bright Minded Birds


Meet Angelee one part of the Bird Family who strives to come up with ideas that they enjoy making as well as creating something children/parents enjoy. Over time the Bird Family hopes to have a variety of items that are based around handmade baby accessories and early learning items that are great to have in the home!


Do you have kids? If so how many & age?

I have one child, a one year old named Jacob!

What's one thing people probably don't know about you? I have a cheesy tattoo from an ex from when I was 18. Yes I was that dumb. 

Are you a stay at home mom? Kind of, When my other half comes home from work I go in to my part time job about 3-4 times a week (making pizza). But from the morning til 4 pm i'm completely focused on Jacob and building up Bright Minded Birds.

What is your favourite thing to do for yourself? I've always been into art, drawing and writing. So this plat form has really helped me focus on things I love to do while involving others when I can. 

What is your favourite date night activity? Our version of date night is watching a marvel movie we've probably seen about a dozen times already, ordering food that is bad for us and cuddling up. Our relationship has always been like that and I don't think we'll ever get tired of it !

Who's your IG inspiration? @th3littlestavenger I've followed and unfollowed a lot of women that I liked but just didn't end up agreeing with their lifestyle. Which is okay, that's what the unfollow button is for and I will never go out of my way to start drama with someone that has a different lifestyle then me. I think that is why I've never clicked the unfollow button with this woman. Ever since following her and her amazing journey through motherhood, I've never felt one reason to feel judged, or judge her on any post. Which sounds terrible but that is the bad side to this plat form, is that there is some people that criticize way to much because their so caught up in their own ways. But this woman makes every woman feel like their journey is important. Which is something i've always looked up to since going through my own battles with post partum. 


What advice would you give your younger self? You can pursue something someday that you enjoy, it just takes a minute to find it.

Where is business located out of? We work from home, and I say we because my other half Chris does help me when I need it, but I do everything 90% of the time! I live in Seaforth Ontario, a small little town that no one ever hears of but we like our small community. 

How did you choose the name for your business? We came up with the name Bright Minded Birds - Chris and I have always been a team when it comes to everything, so it was important to me to base my little shop around my family.

How do you balance having kids & running a business? Honestly, just with one I've come to realize it isn't easy to do something for yourself, no matter what it is. So running a small business basically on your own from home can be stressful but at the same time so satisfying when I fulfill a goal/order. I can't say it'll get any easier if I decide to have more kids down the road, but I don't think that'll ever stop me from get creative, if anything it'll push me to come up with new ideas! My niece was my biggest inspiration behind getting into learning activities being that she struggles with it, so for me having children around can be such a big inspiration for my shop. 

Where can people find your products? on my etsy site! www.etsy.com/ca/shop/brightmindedbirds


What advice can you give someone looking to start up their own business? You aren't going to get that first push from anyone else but yourself to move forward. Don't ever doubt your gut, and stick to what you want to do!


What sets your business apart from others alike? I've come across a few shops that are into selling multiple products and can never seem to stick with something. I always plan on adding early learning products to the site, but we also like to get creative and make cute accessories on the side. I've seen a few stores supporting early learning, and a lot of them have downloadable programs for sale to print right at home. Which is something I would love to try as well but it's just not as fun as me actually getting creative and hand printing each flash card to look different! Our plan is to customize and relate with our products while trying to keep most of them gender neutral. Even our baby accessories (wall decor to come), each one is hand made and designs are inspired through other mothers opinions/ideas! Bright Minded Birds is focused on including their customers ideas and having everyone's opinion taken into consideration.  

What is the most challenging part of running your business? I'd have to say the most challenging part is pleasing everyone. But that's the struggle with any business, until you remember you started it because you wanted to please yourself somehow. 

Coffee or tea? Always tea Neutral or colourful? Neutral Morning or night? Night Wine or beer? Neither I've always just been a straight whiskey type of girl. Starbucks or tims? Tims, love my ice caps even in the winter! Online shopping or in store? Online, I hate going shopping in store unless its a home decor shop Instagram or facebook? Instagram has become more of a place for me to read a lot of great topics. Facebook is just something I scroll through when I want to see a funny meme. Text or phone call? Text, Im honestly the worst on the phone



@Camara.Crew Stamp of Approval: When I came across @bright_mindedbirds I knew right away I wanted to collaborate with Angelee. I had already followed her personal account @raising_littlebird on Instagram and loved watching her stories and following along on her motherhood journey. She is one of those people who are genuine and aren't afraid to share their story and voice their opinions which I love. When I saw that she had started a new adventure with her family I knew I wanted to help spread the word.


I was so excited to start taking photos with the hand stamped photo props! They arrived at the perfect time for valentines day. Lily even wanted to get in on the fun so we put a twist on the "my first vday" card as it's her first Valentines's Day as a big sister. I love the hand stamped look of the cards, it really is beautiful and photographs really well! I also love that they are monochrome.


We also received a set of the 1-5 number cards. They come on durable paper and with a metal loop to attach the cards to. Being able to attach them makes them great for travelling with. Mason already loves looking at the cards and Lily was teaching him all about the numbers and pictures. They truly are great for early learning.


Be sure to use code CAMARA10 for a special discount!!



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page