top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - Bucked Naked Soap Company

Meet Rina, the mama and owner behind Buck Naked Soap Company from Cambridge, Ontario. Rina's companies vision is: Buck Naked Soap Company is a bold, natural, vegan, sustainable, bath and body brand. Through small batch operation, they make high quality, handcrafted, and vegan, cold process soap and bath products. Using only the best in naturally occurring ingredients, they craft each product with care and control. In addition, as a natural, vegan and sustainable company, they believe ‘being Buck Naked’ is about being exposed, uncomplicated, pure and effortless, both as a brand and a person.

Do you have kids? If so how many & age? Yes, 1 who is 6 yo

What’s one thing people probably don't know about you?I love stamps

Are you a stay at home mom? No

What is your favourite thing to do for yourself? Taking a nice hot bath and reading a good book or listening to an amazing podcast. What is your favourite date night activity? Going to a movie. What's one thing you couldn't live without? My son

Who's your IG inspiration? I can’t say that I have a greatest inspiration. I love seeing what everyone is doing, but our look and feel is purely our own. What advice would you give your younger self? Just walk away How did you choose the name for your business? We wanted something that captured our natural, vegan and sustainable ethos, and being naked, being exposed and vulnerable, captured what we are so we decided upon Buck Naked. How do you balance having kids & running a business? You don’t. It’s a myth. Some days you just have to run to Tim Horton’s to make your child lunch. True Story!

Where can people find your products? Our line maybe found in boutiques and spas thought Canada and the US as well as on our website.

What advice can you give someone looking to start up their own business? Follow your passion, but do your research. Make sure you know you numbers or find a good accountant

What sets your business apart from others alike? We believe in what we do and don’t go with trends just because they are popular. We do our research on products and raw materials, assessing for ourselves if they meet our if they meet our company values. For instance, we research the sustainability of ingredients to ensure they are not endangered or negatively impact the communities/cultures that harvest or manufacture our raw materials.

What is the most challenging part of running your business? Creating and developing an annual strategy. That and keeping up with emails :)

What does a typical day look like for you? Meet with my staff and follow up with needs for the day

Check and follow up on emails

Process orders

Work on strategy and launches

Communicate with stakeholders, clients and stockists

Check on production and manufacturing

Follow up with shipping to ensure we are on schedule Favourite song: Creep by Radio Head Dream Vacation: Swim with the pigs in the Bahamas Favourite Book: Fifth Business and Freakonomics Dream Job: What I’m doing Favourite Podcast: Serial Dream Car: Studebaker Favourite Smell: Our Vanilla Chai anything Dream meal: no idea :) Favourite item of clothing: pair of Levis jeans that I’ve kept, even though they don’t fit.

Instagram:

Website:

Stamp of Approval:

I love getting happy mail but when it smells as amazing as the package I received from Buck Naked Soap Company nothing compares! I couldn't believe as soon as I picked up the package I could smell the beauty through the box.

Rina was kind enough to gift us some items for both me and the kids. So I am going to review each separately.

For me I received: Lavender & Rosemary Dead Sea Salt Soak Lavender & Rosemary Lotion Bar Lavender & Rosemary Soap Lavender & Rosemary Bath Bomb

Let me tell you I've indulged in some much needed self-care since receiving Rina's products. I was so sad they arrived right after I had my surgery because I couldn't wait to hop in the tub and soak. After using all of Rina's products I always feel so refreshed and relaxed. The lavender is so soothing and leaves me feeling and smelling lucious afterwards. The little bits of lavender that sit in the tub after the bath bomb dissolves looks so pretty I never want to get out. I find that my skin's been very dry since the winter ended and with the never ending changes in the weather. After using Rina's lotion my skin is back to normal and ready to battle the sun.

For Lily & Mason we received: Chamomile & Calendula Castile Soap Natural Lotion Bar

I am always so worried about the products that I use on Lily and Mason. But I now feel at ease using Rina's products. Once thing I liked is that she made a bar of soap that was safe to use on the kids. Lily really likes using a bar of soap instead of the baby soap because she wants to be like mommy and daddy so she loves that she has her own special bar of soap now. It smells nice without being too overpowering for children. After their baths I love using the natural lotion on both of them. It is so soothing and is the perfect finish to a relaxing bath!

86 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page