top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - Bunny Bear Bandits



One thing that has always been really important to me is making sure that my children have good supportive shoes, especially when they are learning to walk. I think it is important for us to provide them with the foundation to take off running. I was so excited when I met Natalie and learned of her business Bunny Bear Bandits. Natalie sells a brand of toddler and kids shoes called Crtartu. They offer beautiful and unique designs that also promote healthy food growth for your little ones!


Do you have kids? If so how many & age?  Yes, I have two girls, 3 and 1 years old


Whats one thing people probably don't know about you? I hate salads


Are you a stay at home mom? Yes


What is your favourite thing to do for yourself? Facials at the spa


What is your favourite date night activity? A fancy delicious meal


Whats one thing you couldnt live without? My family


Who is your IG inspiration? I just started my journey on IG and I find it so inspiring. There’s

such a huge community of moms and women supporting each other. I’m just in awe of them

all.


What advice would you give your younger self: No regrets. Learn what you can from each

experience, feel each emotion to the fullest and move on.


Where is business located out of? North York


How did you choose the name for your business? It was a combination of my girls, the

crtartu logo and the fact that I honestly can’t find anything after the hurricane these bandits

leave in the family room every evening.


How do you balance having kids & running a business? It’s challenging. I try to schedule my

day as much as possible so that I can get things done while they are in daycare, or after

they go to bed. I am still learning.


Where can people find your products? Currently only online. I will be at the Trinity

Bellwoods Flea Market Next April and June 2020. Hopefully next year you’ll be able to find

them in stores as well.


What advice can you give someone looking to start up their own business? Start small and

do your due diligence. It takes time, so don’t give up.


What sets your business apart from others alike?

The shoes are unique in a few ways.

  • They have a 3 stage sole system, meaning each stage of development has a sole appropriate for that age, foot growth and activities.

  • They have extra wide openings to allow for easy on and off, but stay on. For example, in the summer sandals there is velcro in both the ankle and every front strap so it fits perfectly.

  • They adapt in each stage. Some first stage have a Velcro strap while the second stage doesn’t. Some summer sandals will have a closed heel in the first stage and an open heel in the second stage. Its all about the safety and comfort of our kids.

  • The sizes run every 0.5cm as opposed to our standard of 0.5 inches. That allows for a more appropriate fit and optimizes mobility.

What is the most challenging part of running your business? Predicting and holding

inventory. It’s hard to anticipate which models/colors people will love the most.


What does a typical day look like for you? Up early, kids ready and daycare drop offs.

Usually working. I try to fit in a workout, or meet a friend or two in between. And then,

daycare pick up, dinner, bath and kids to bed. Then is the time to have some quality time

with hubby, if we don’t have a million other things to do that is..


Favourite song: it changes all the time, currently Dan and Shae, all to myself

Dream Vacation: a week in a luxury resort at the Maldives

Favourite Book: Any Jane Austin book

Dream Job: what I’m doing now

Dream Car: 40’ restored old American car

Favourite Smell: the ocean

Dream meal: Fois gras, steak, chocolate cheesecake

Favourite item of clothing: shoes!


@Camara.Crew Stamp of Approval

I had a really hard time choosing which shoes to get from Bunny Bear Bandits because I loved all of the designs. What immediately caught my eye was that I haven't seen shoes that look like these in the stores. I was excited to see them in person to truly see if they lived up to everything that Natalie told me about them.


When they arrived Lily was so excited! We did our unboxing before bed and she wanted to wear them to bed she thought they were so comfy. They are the only running shoes that she's wanted to wear since receiving them and she is EXTREMELY picky about what goes on her feet. So I am not going to write this review, I am going to tell you what Lily told me about her new Red Sawyer Shoes;

  • They were soooooo comfy mommy

  • I feel like i am walking on my soft blankie all the time

  • I can run super fast in these mommy

  • I can put them on all by myself I don't need your help!

  • Mommy look I can measure my own feet! (Lily loved that there was a measuring tool included just like in the stores for her to measure her own feet!)

These are all things right from Lily's mouth. Every where we went she wanted people to see "her new cool shoes she got in the mail". One feature that I really love as mom is there are no laces or velcro. They are SO easy to get on and off so Lily can do it all by herself. Anything that increases her independence because that is what makes her happy and it also makes it easier for me when trying to get two kiddos out the door. I also like that Mason will be able to wear these shoes when Lily outgrows them. There are a lot of unisex designs to help increase the wear of your shoes.


I also really enjoyed talking and working with Natalie. She is passionate about what she does and has taken the time to make sure that you have a good shopping experience before she opened her shop. She is easy to talk to and a great resource if you are unsure about sizing or anything prior to ordering! She is ready and willing to help answer all of your questions.


I will definitely be ordering from Bunny Bear Bandits again! This review gets my 100% stamp of approval. Stay tuned tomorrow for a special GIVEAWAY tomorrow on my Instagram page. Be sure to give both myself @camara.crew and @bunnybearbandits a follow so you don't miss out on a chance to win!


If you want to catch Bunny Bear Bandits in person you can see Natalie and her amazing shoes in person at The Holiday Pop Up Market Fort York Foot Bank 380 College Street Sunday November 3rd 10-5:00pm


This event is in support of the food bank and a great place for you to shop from local businesses.


58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page