top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - Busy Box Shop


Meet Jenna the talented handmade activity maker behind Busy Box Shop located in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan. Jenna’s goal is to make those hard-parenting moments just a bit easier by providing simple, affordable, and fun activities for your child. CAN I GET A HALLEJUIAH, CAN I GET AN AMEN!! Jenna’s products capture children’s creativity, and make learning a blast right when you need it to. No matter if it’s in the car, in the waiting room or at a restaurant, Busy Box Shop always has your back by providing you portable and entertaining kids toys. Busy Box Shop’s unique activity tin design is a new and fun way to captivate kid’s attention when you need it most!

Spoiler alert! One of the best things I learned about Jenna was that she is a young entrepreneur! The talent and maturity of Jenna is astounding and I am sure you will agree after reading her thoughtful answers and seeing her products. Let’s get to know Jenna!


What's one thing people probably don't know about you?

Most people don’t know that I’m a young entrepreneur, and I started my business two years ago when I was 14, in grade 10, and now I’m about to start gr. 12!




What is your favourite thing to do for yourself?

Laying in bed, and watching Grey's Anatomy, or being creative in anyway. That could be a trip to the craft store, practicing my calligraphy, or planning new box ideas!


What's one thing you couldn't live without?

Definitely my family and friends. I’m an introvert big time, but I thrive off of my relationships with them. They are my biggest supporters, and my favourite people to be around!


Who's your IG inspiration?

I would say any Canadian small shops because they inspire me so much. A few others are Tara from Rad and Happy, and Julie from Lemony Stitch! There are obviously soooo many incredible women on insta that it is so hard to choose! I am so lucky that I am able to look up to all of these amazing entrepreneurs.


How did you choose the name for your business?

I wanted something that told the customer exactly what our product was, and something that sounded fun, and exciting, so me and my mom came up with Busy Box Shop!


What advice can you give someone looking to start up their own business?

I would say to stick to it. There have been many moments where I don’t feel inspired, or creative enough to keep going, especially in the beginning. But when those big moments come like getting into your first store, seeing your product being used in public, getting sent pictures and kind reviews, or being featured on blogs like this, it makes all of it so worth it!!

What sets your business apart from others alike?

I think that we have a unique product that is not really on the market that much. I love going to craft shows and seeing everyone’s reactions when they look at our product!


What is the most challenging part of running your business?

Feeling inspired, and balance. It’s definitely hard to balance high school, and a business. There aren’t really any Pinterest hacks that help you, or magical spell that can give you more hours in the day, so it has taken a really long time to find a bit of balance and routine. If I’m being honest, I still haven’t found it, and I don’t know if I ever will, but that’s life! My business is always changing, which is sooo exciting!


Coffee or tea? 100% coffee! But iced with a bunch of flavouring added to it! Iced coffee made with chocolate milk from Tim’s is my go to!

Neutral or colourful? I love the calm and minimalist style sooo much for decor and clothing, but I can’t pass up a fun coloured well, anything! So I would say a bit of both.

Morning or night? Definitely night. During the school year I do not like mornings, but I do enjoy getting up early (like 9 am) in the summer and starting my day productively!

Starbucks or Tim Hortons? Hmmm. Tim Hortons for iced coffee and Timbits, but Starbucks for fun fruity drinks and cake pops!

Online shopping or in store? I like both! I online shop for things like decor and creative supplies and any small shop goodies, but I get most clothes in store.


Instagram: @busyboxshop

Use code: CAMARACREW for a discount! You won't regret it.


@Camara.Crew Stamp of Approval:

Jenna's Busy Boxes are by far one of my favourite finds for Lily. I want to start off by saying Lily is only 2 so I would not allow her to use these items unsupervised as they do have small parts. However, they are totally appropriate for her age and she IMMEDIATELY loved playing with them. After I took the items out of the mailing package I allowed Lily to open each package to test things out (see video on my Instagram!).

She went for the Magnetic Fixing Box First. Lily was able to easily open and close the tin on her own and figure out what she was supposed to do for the activity. She started naming off the colours of the fish inside the box and chatted away while playing. I love how opened ended this activity box was. Lily then shifted her attention to the Paw Patrol Puppets. Lily was able to identify who each character was without any help. She needed a bit of assistance putting them on her fingers (mostly because she wanted one on every finger!) but once we opened them up and did it once she was able to do it on her own. The puppets opened up a lot of opportunity for imaginative play and she loves using them while watching Paw Patrol on TV. The last activity we tested out was the Cupcake Felt Board. Lily is really into playing in her kitchen and anything that has to do with food. She really enjoyed mixing up the colours and pieces to make some unique cupcake creations. I have to say I even enjoyed this activity!


All of the activities were packaged beautifully! What I like is that I could reuse the packaging it came in and travel light and easy. I am always looking for new ideas of how to entertain Lily on road trips because she is starting to get antsy in the car. These Busy Box Activities will be perfect for road trips, rainy days at home or on an airplane. There are so many ways that you can use these activities to keep your little ones busy. I highly recommend purchasing them!


Here are my pros about the variety of activities that Jenna creates:

1. They would make great gifts. I am always looking for something small to put with a gift card or money and these Busy Boxes would be a great addition to any gift!

2. It promotes learning and development. Each activity opens up a variety of ways that you can promote learning and development. Whether it is about colours, songs or counting the opportunities are endless.

3. They are small and compact. Each activity can easily be travelled with to help keep your little ones busy.

4. They are affordable.

5. Good quality. Some of her items, especially the puppets and the cupcake felt board have a lot of detail on each piece. Jenna does a great job creating good quality products.




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page