top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - Clementine Coast

Meet Stephanie, the mama to a 4 year old & talented maker behind

clothing. CLEMENTINE COAST is a handmade children's clothing shop with both sized and grow with me items. All of Stephanie's items are influenced by the East Coast and summers/Christmas spent in the gaspe region of northern Quebec.

What's one thing people probably don't know about you? I hated Wuthering heights. I know it is a beloved classic but I hated it. Heathcliff is an obsessive jerk that pushed his way into her life. Even in death she had no peace. I hate that this book keeps getting remade for the next generation as a love story.

Are you a stay at home mom? Yes

What is your favourite thing to do for yourself? This little shop is something I started for me I needed a creative outlet and sewing was it. I've always loved fashion. I started drawing historical costumes from the time I was 11 or 12.

What is your favourite date night activity? Date night .. what's that? We don't get to go Out very often but I just love to find new and niche restaurants in Toronto. Or peruse chapters.

What's one thing you couldn't live without? My family. My sewing machine. Romance novels. Netflix. Really good chocolate. Leggings. Wine and chanel n'5. Wouldn't want to see a world without the barefoot contessa either...who is going to remind me so bluntly I'm a poor peasant? Use the good $100 olive oil!

Who's your IG inspiration? Who isn't in love with Jillian Harris's Instagram page. Soft colours. Recipes. Fashion.

What advice would you give your younger self Don't let anyone's opinion change your mind your attitude or your goals. I let too.many opinions thoughts and voices get into my head and

.

How do you balance having kids & running a business? I don't. I fail, alot. We eat too much pizza. My house is too messy. If anyone has the answer to this...dm me. Lol.

What advice can you give someone looking to start up their own business? Don't let anyone tell you not to or that you can't. You can. You will. It just takes persistence.

What sets your business apart from others alike? I have seen a few east coast clothing companies but none have been handmade children's clothing. I feel like I've found a unique niche and it would be very hard to repeat the same style and vision I have for my clothing since it's based off my own unique childhood trips/experiences.

What is the most challenging part of running your business? For me it's missing turn around times. I'm a one woman show. I'm always running behind and the stress of not being able to make a deadline eats away at me (hello pepto bismal and midnight stress crying lol)

What does a typical day look like for you? I think people have a misconception that I just wake up. Walk Into a fresh clean sewing room and sew happily with thread that never breaks or needs changing. Machines that never break. I do more prepping/paperwork/emailing/ordering/communications/social media/photography and packing + tagging items than actual sewing. While wrangling a kid, a senior dog with cushings AND figuring out what everyone is going to eat Every day.

Favourite song: eye of the tiger and I'm every woman - shaka khan are always there for me when I need to power through something difficult in life. Dream Vacation: Paris Favourite Book: Bridges of Madison county. Captain corellis mandolin. Old man and the sea. Dream Job: fashion designer Favourite Podcast: I'm not cool like that. Dream Car: Chevy Nova- bright red or a dodge dart (old 70s model) Favourite Smell: Pizza cooking or that fresh air smell of.laundry dried on the clothes line Fav item of clothing: Every year I buy myself an aqua/minty colour cardigan for spring. In 20 years it's never gone out of style.

Facebook:

Instagram:

You can find their products in store at

and

stamp of approval:

When I discovered

on Instagram I was immediately drawn to her items. I felt this connection to her clothing because I could see how the East Coast influenced her work. My dad and his family, as well as my mom's family are all from the East Coast. I love that Stephanie uses her own childhood experiences and trips to inspire her work and choices. It makes every piece seem extra special because there is a story behind it.

I had such a hard time picking an item from her shop because it is all adorable! In the end I went with a pair of bummies for Mason with a Milk pattern on them. They are beautifully made and fit perfectly! They were so perfect I had to use them in Mason's 8 month photo update. With regard to sizing I ordered Mason size 12 months in the bummies and he is currently wearing size 9 months. They fit him great right now so I would recommend sizing up 1 size to get most wear out of them. They are the perfect piece to your kiddos summer wardrobe.

101 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page