top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - CraftyShayCo


Meet Mandy, the crafty and talented maker behind CraftyShayco. Mandy makes wooden peg dolls, with non-toxic materials, so they are a safe and fun alternative to plastic toys for kids! Mandy's wooden peg dolls provide endless open-ended opportunities for play and fun!



Do you have kids? If so how many & age?

I do not have my own kids yet! For the last four and half years, I have been a full-time nanny for the same family (for two kids- 5 ½ and almost 3) and have 3 nieces and 3 nephews all under the age of 6!


What is your favourite thing to do for yourself?

I love any kind of creative outlet- painting, crocheting, decorating cakes.. the list goes on. Most evenings you will find me making some kind of craft or more often, many crafts at once.


What's one thing you couldn't live without?

I am a huge introvert and really need my quiet downtime to unwind at the end of the day. Also candy! I love candy.


What's your favourite date night activity?

I love to stay in & cuddle with my husband and dog while watching a movie or binge watching a show. We also like to go for dinner with family or friends- especially when it involves tacos or large platters of nachos.


Where is business located out of? & what's your favourite thing to do in your hometown?

My business/ craft table is currently located in the middle of our one bedroom apartment in Puslinch (just south of Guelph), Ontario. I love going to a local coffee shop for a strong americano & going with my husband and large fur baby for a walk somewhere outside of the city.


How did you choose the name for your business?

I chose the word crafty because I didn’t want to limit myself to only peg dolls. I love all the crafts and don’t know what it will evolve into. Shayco is how you pronounce my last name..Szyiko..but no one would ever know how to say it!


What has been most challenging about starting your own business?

The most challenging thing has been figuring out what types of sets I like to paint- and which sets people would like to buy! I am always trying new things or doing custom orders to gain experience painting all kinds of pegs.


What have you found most supportive when starting your business?

Many of my friends and family have bought peg dolls as gifts, which has been so nice. Also Tiny Town, a local drop in play center, has offered to display dolls for sale at their front counter for me. This has been so great and has led to many inquiries and custom orders!


Coffee or tea? COFFEE- the stronger the better

Neutral or colourful? Both

Morning or night? Night

Wine or beer? Sweet white wine only!

Starbucks or Tim Hortons? Starbucks

Online shopping or in store? Online

Instagram or Facebook? Instagram

Text or phone call? Depends if I am feeling chatty..


Instagram: @craftyshayco


@Camara.Crew Stamp of Approval: When I received the princess wooden peg doll set for Lily I was blown away by the craftsmanship! Mandy's artistic abilities are amazing. When Lily opened up the bag, she knew exactly who each Princess was. What we love most about the peg dolls is they provide an endless amount of opportunity for open ended play. There are so many different ways that Lily can use them while playing it has really sparked her imagination. We also love that they are compact and can easily be taken on the go. It is so hard to find toys that amuse Lily for a good amount of time and don't take up extra space in the diaper bag. Being a mom of 2 having to carry extra stuff out there door can be very difficult. But with Mandy's wooden peg dolls it is easy! I highly recommend checking out her page and purchasing some for your kiddos! They are a great gift idea for any kid and I can guarantee no one else will think of it.



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page