top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - Ficht & Co.

Updated: Aug 31, 2020


Meet Lindsay, the mama and maker behind Ficht & Co Handmade Apparel. Lindsay makes baby and toddler apparel & lounger nests (baby nests). Most of her fabrics are sourced from Canadian companies. She washes, dries and sometimes irons all the fabric that she purchases. Lindsay personally cuts out and sew each piece that her customer's order and let me tell you -- she produces high quality items!

Do you have kids? If so, how many & age? Two Boys: Boyd 2.5 years old and Wyatt 11 months old


What's one thing people probably don't know about you? I have been sewing for over 20 years. (Saying that makes me feel really old!!) I have more than 7 tattoos, some that are very large.

Are you a stay at home mom? I was an RPN in long term care for the past 9+ years but just quit my job in May to stay at home and watch my boys grow.


What is your favourite thing to do for yourself? I don't really do a whole lot for myself these days, alone time at the grocery store is probably the most relaxing thing I do these days.


What is your favourite date night activity? Going out for a fancy kidless dinner and enjoying a delicious glass of wine.


What's one thing you couldn't live without? COFFEE and of course my sewing machine!!


Who's your IG inspiration? What advice would you give your younger self? Be nice to your mother, her job is harder than you think!!

How did you choose the name for your business? I started my business under a different name over 2 years ago with another business partner, I have since become a sole owner and got married. My brand name is my new married name which I am so happy to have as it represents us as a family.


How do you balance having kids & running a business? It is definitely challenging and gets harder as the kids and business is growing. At the moment I do 95% of my sewing and other business related stuff while my kids are asleep. They are the number one priority.


Where can people find your products? I do not have a website yet, I do have an etsy page where I have some ready to ship items listed. Most orders are through customers seeing products that I have posted on Instagram and ordering through DMs and choosing from available fabric choices. My goal is to be moving more towards drops on etsy and eventually a website once I have figured out how to make that work for my business.


What advice can you give someone looking to start up their own business? Know what you want your business to look like and go for it!


What sets your business apart from others alike? I personally sew each and every piece, I don't have helpers; this sometimes causes items to take a little longer to be completed. I have considered hiring someone now that I am getting a little busier but I am proud of my quality and wouldn't know if that would be maintained with other hands in the pot. Also 99% of all items are custom ordered, I really like that customers can choose the fabric and size that they really want instead of choosing what is available.


Where is business located out of? My basement, my husband recently renovated a room for me to have my own dedicated space.


What is the most challenging part of running your business? Not having enough time.


What does a typical day look like for you? Wakeup, try and enjoy a hot cup of coffee before the boys wake up. Then it is just the chaos of dressing, feeding and entertaining everyone until nap time when I can enjoy an hour or two of sewing. Then repeat till bedtime. #typicalmomlife


Dream Vacation: Anywhere tropical

Dream Job: I'm doing it

Favourite item of clothing: Sweatpants and a baggy shirt!!! Kinda crazy


Instagram: @fichtandco


I've had so much fun working with Lindsay on this collaboration. After seeing Lindsay's beautiful work I knew I could trust her in making the perfect outfit for Violet's 4 month photo update. She did not disappoint with this adorable yellow top with ruffle sleeves and cactus print shorts! The fabric is buttery soft and stretches beautifully to fit my growing babe! I love that it is also light and airy for those super hot summer days we've been having lately.


Lindsay also made Mason's grow with me pants pictured below. They are the coolest Camo print I've ever seen (I kind of want a pair for myself!). I will be honest I originally purchased these as a gift but then once they arrived I couldn't help myself but try them on Mason. And they are now his! LOL I was shocked by the fit as Mason is currently wearing size 2T pushing size 3T and these are size 18-24 months. They are a generous fit and Mason can still get a lot of wear out of them. What I love about this fabric is they are great for summer nights when it is still warm and he won't over heat as well as to wear around the house in the air conditioning.


What I love about Lindsay is she's been great to work with! Knowing that you can put 100% trust in someone to create something beautiful for your children is so important. Her passion and skills are impeccable and you will not be disappointed to work wither her to make your vision come to life!


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page