top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - Fynlee Fashion




Meet  Lyz, the owner of Fynlee's Fashion a custom clothing line focusing on Grow With Me, cloth diapers and nursing friendly options with fabrics sources mainly from Canadian women owned businesses. I first came across Lyz's business through Instagram browsing and was so grateful when I did. I saw one of her dresses she posted and knew that I needed her to make Lily a custom flower girl dress for an upcoming wedding she was in. Keep on reading to see the beautiful dress Lyz designed for Lily!



Do you have kids? If so how many & age?   Fynlee (3), Faelan (2)


What's one thing people probably don't know about you? I am nervous meeting new people, and tend to get self conscious.

Are you a stay at home mom? Yes

What is your favourite thing to do for yourself? Honestly - sew. It's my therapy. I love escaping in my creations.

What is your favourite date night activity? We recently went go-carting. That was great!

What's one thing you couldn't live without? My people. 

Who's your IG inspiration? Tough one. I'm pretty new to this IG thing, so I am still learning, and really don't know. 

What advice would you give your younger self: listen to mom. She actually does know best. 

How did you choose the name for your business? Since my business was created because I had started sewing for Fyn, it seemed fitting to name it after her. 


How do you balance having kids & running a business? I don't think I truly do, but I mainly do everything while they sleep, and sometimes they "help" me. 

Where can people find your products? I am online (Facebook and Instagram). And also in store, at The Nook in Grimsby, and Berta's in Chippawa.


What advice can you give someone looking to start up their own business? Research, research, research....and network! 


What sets your business apart from others alike? I mainly do custom work, so each piece is unique. Items I make to sell in store or online are one of a kind, with various prints or patterns. I try and keep things different. 

What is the most challenging part of running your business? Staying organized...and not spending all my money on fabric ;) 

What does a typical day look like for you? Honestly, my day is mainly juggling between feeding and entertaining the little F's. Once full and tired and finally napping, I can work. 

Then we do it all over again until bed time ;) Entertainment includes EarlyON, the library, park or hiking, arts and crafts, reading, building and science experiments. 


Favourite song: I actually don't have one Dream Vacation: back to Europe Favourite Book: Choke Dream Job: I'm doing it ;) but I would love to be a lactation consultant later on.  Favourite Podcast: Don't listen to any. Dream Car:  Corvette  Favourite Smell: Fall.  Dream meal: I would love to have my grandma's meatballs again. Favourite item of clothing: A warm, comfy sweater. 


Instagram: @fynlees.fashion

@Camara.Crew Stamp of Approval:

My daughter hates dresses - it is a fight to get her to wear one but sometimes we don't have a choice when she is asked to be in special occasions such as someone's wedding as a flower girl. I was stressed out about finding her the perfect dress that one she would want to wear and 2 that went with the colour scheme of the wedding. Finding a plum coloured dress in summer = not easy! I knew I needed to take my search to my favourite small shops to come to my rescue. I was so excited when I came across Lyz's business. She posted this beautiful dress and I knew that was the one that I needed her to customize for Lily. Lyz was easy to work with and made sure that she searched for the perfect shade of plum to match the wedding colours. What I loved about this dress was that it wasn't overly dressy and uncomfortable for a child, it was something that she could actually wear again! And...here's the best part it was AFFORDABLE! Dresses for weddings are insanely priced and it can add a lot of stress to your life if you are worried about purchasing a flower girl dress that isn't over the budget. This was perfect for us because not only was it affordable but we were able to customize it perfectly for the wedding.


I can successfully say that with some encouragement and a little bribery Lily wore her dress and looked absolutely beautiful in it. We got so many compliments on how great it looked and people asking where we got it from! People felt like it was better than anything they've seen in stores and I totally agree with them! Thank you Lyz for making the perfect dress for our girl :)



32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page