top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - Holland Lane Guelph

Meet Jennifer, the mama of 3 and talented maker behind Holland Lane! If you are like me, and have a difficult time wearing jewelry that is not real gold trust me when I say you can wear Holland Lane! You'll have to read my review below to learn more. But first, lets get to know Jennifer and what inspired her to start her company.

Do you have kids? If so how many & age? 3 Boys, 16,13,11

What's one thing people probably don't know about you? When I was younger I played the violin for a very short time.. I was not very good LOL

Are you a stay at home mom? Technically as I work from home :)

What is your favourite thing to do for yourself? I like to get a mani/pedi and enjoy lots of hot baths!

What is your favourite date night activity? Hmm.. date nights are very limited for myself and my man so when we get time together it's lots of snuggles with the occasional activity like axe throwing, bowling,walks etc.

What's one thing you couldn't live without? Coffee!

Who's your IG inspiration? I really enjoy The Birds Papaya and my business IG inspiration is my girl Kristy at The Scented Market! Both fantastic ladies to follow.

What advice would you give your younger self? Be kind and patient with yourself. Things will go wrong.. things will suck sometimes.. but keep pushing forward you will be ok.

Where is business located out of? My home

How did you choose the name for your business? Holland is my maiden name. Lane just kind of came out of nowhere. I kept having Holland Lane pop in to my head over and over again so I knew that's what I had to call it.

How do you balance having kids & running a business? In my situation my ex husband and I have 50/50 custody of the younger two so it is sometimes easier to get work done. Being your own boss never really offers "time off" though so when I do have all the kiddos it can be quite hectic. Lots of late nights and early mornings to get things done.

Where can people find your products? Currently Holland Lane designs can be purchased at vendor shows I attend or online at

. I am in the process of sourcing brick and mortar companies who may be interested in carrying it also and have a few promising leads!

What advice can you give someone looking to start up their own business? You will fail.. not every idea you have is going to be a great one. Not everyone is going to like what you have to offer.. but but give up because there are a LOT of people out there who will. Invest in your business but don't forget to invest in your personal well being also..burn out is not fun.

What sets your business apart from others alike? I would say the kind of jewelry that I make. It definitely isn't everyone cup of tea but I have had a great response so far so I'm sticking to it.

What is the most challenging part of running your business? Wearing all of the hats. It gets exhausting having to do all of the things. Creating designs is where my passion is.. all of the other things are like a chore and brutal to get done sometimes.

What does a typical day look like for you?

It honestly varies from day to day.. but normally I'm busy doing any of the following things.

- Coffee (BIG cup)

- Let the dog out and tend to the kiddos when they are home.

- Check emails and Social Media.

- Work on designs

- Design any marketing materials for social media and get vendor show booth materials in order if a show is coming up.

- Some sort of physical activity

- Housework

-Kiddo stuff when they are home

Favourite song: Oh man.. this is tough but right now I'd say "I don't care" by Ed Sheeran and the Biebs.. and I'm not normally a Bieber fan.

Dream Vacation: Ohhh probably to Australia.

Favourite Book: I honestly can't say I have a favourite book.. no time to sit and read but I wish I had one! Dream Job: I'm an entrepreneur through and through.. always have been and can't see myself doing anything else but working for myself. Favourite Podcast: Don't listen to them.

Dream Car: a JEEP

Favourite Smell: Vanilla

Dream meal: I love me some butter chicken... mmm Favourite item of clothing: This is a tricky one. I wouldn't say I really have a favourite item of clothing to be honest. I've lost about 30lbs in the last few months so it's been fun having to get new things and also falling back in love with things that didn't fit or are fitting better now!

Stamp of Approval:

I have a very difficult time wearing earrings that aren't real gold. My ears are easily irritated and I can only last a short period of time with fake earrings. I was so surprised when I wore my Holland Lane Earrings how comfortable they were. The one day I forgot I was even wearing them and slept with them in. I had no irritation at all.

Since I started wearing them I've gotten so many compliments on how cute they are! I love the white and black options that I chose because I am able to wear them with so many different outfits. Whether I am wearing jeans and tee or a fancy dress these earrings always make my outfit pop!

I also love that her jewelry is made out of polymer clay. I find that it really sets her stuff apart from other companies who make earrings. They aren't like anything I've seen before! I highly recommend checking out her page (links above) and getting yourself a pair of her earrings. They are perfect for every style and occasion. You won't regret it!

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page