top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - Hooked by Britt


Meet Brittany the maker behind Hooked by Britt from Hamilton, Ontario. Brittany makes a variety of crochet items, but would tell you her favourite to make and most popular item is her stuffed creatures.


I am excited to feature another company from my hometown of Hamilton. There is so much amazing talent right in my backyard. Let’s get to know Brittany.



Do you have kids? If so how many & age?

I have one daughter who is almost 6.


What's one thing people probably don't know about you?

I taught myself how to crochet using YouTube videos at the end of my mat leave, but didn't make my first animal until April 2016.


Are you a stay at home mom?

I am a work at home mom. I run a home daycare full time during the week.


What is your favourite thing to do for yourself?

Tough question.... I think its time I find time to go do things for myself.


What's one thing you couldn't live without?

Besides the obvious answer of family and friends... I think it's a tie between yarn and coffee. (and cats)

Where is business located out of?

Hamilton, Ontario. Pretty much every room in our house (much to the chagrin of my husband)!

How did you choose the name for your business?

I was asked to make an item for someone, and needed a quick name for the tag on it. After things took off, it didn't cross my mind to change it.

Where can people find your products?

Right now, a few of my products are being stocked at House of Penney on Barton St. I generally only do make to order items though.


What is the most challenging part of running your business?

Finding the time to make everything while juggling family, a social life, work, and a mind that is too full of new ideas.

Coffee or tea? 100% coffee Neutral or colourful? Colourful Morning or night? Night Wine or beer? Don't make me choose! Starbucks or Tim Hortons? Tim Hortons Online shopping or in store? In store Instagram or Facebook? Instagram Text or phone call? Text

Instagram: @hookedbybritt86

Upcoming Events:

Nov. 17 = McNally House Hospice Fundraiser at the Peach King Centre in Grimsby 11-4pm


@Camara.Crew Stamp of Approval:

As Lily was opening her new Elephant from Hooked by Britt I am almost caught myself singing the ever-famous song “Skinnamarink” by Sharon, Lois & Bram. Lily probably would have looked at me like I am nuts seeing as she is obsessed with her daddy’s rap music (yes, I let my child listen to rap music!).


As you can see by all the loving Lily immediately gave her new Elephant the quality is great! The crochet work was flawless and the elephant is absolutely adorable. After looking at Brittany’s Instagram it was difficult to decide on what animal to order. Originally, I had ordered the elephant for our son Mason but Lily wanted to give it some extra love and snuggles before her brother arrives.


Right from the beginning Brittany was great to work with. We easily interacted and were able to come up with the design for a perfect crochet item. From chatting with Brittany on Instagram, to the simple yet PERFECT wrapping of the elephant the process was flawless. I love that Brittany wrapped the elephant in a colourful bag with tissue paper as my daughter thoroughly enjoyed opening it! She even included the cutest tag to tie the bag together that you can address to who you are gifting it to (see below). So even better, you don’t have to rewrap the item if you are planning on gifting it to someone! Super convenient for us busy moms. Can you tell I am a sucker for packaging?

I would love to hear from you if you care about the way your items are presented and packaged upon arrival?



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page