top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - JJM Custom Creations


Meet Jessica the Hamilton, Ontario mama and maker behind JJM Custom Creations. JJM Custom Creations is a handmade modern apparel line for your littles. Jessica offers a large variety of items all at an affordable price! And I love that all of her fabric is from other Canadian small shops that she likes to support located out of Hamilton Ontario.


Do you have kids? If so how many & age? I am a boy momma of two little boys ages 2 and 5 months! As well as a little angel baby from my second pregnancy, unfortunately I lost his twin brother but I always like to make him just as important as the two I have with me today


What's one thing people probably don't know about you? One thing people probably don’t know about me is that I’ve NEVER tried coffee? I know crazy right I’m not sure how I make it through these days half the time haha!

Are you a stay at home mom?While I would love to just be able to snuggle my boys everyday I am not a stay at home mom. I am also a full time student as well as full time boss mom with my clothing business.

What is your favourite thing to do for yourself?This one is a hard one, I don’t do to many things for myself, but I do love a nice hot bath every night.

What's one thing you couldn't live without? Leggings. Definitely leggings.

What has been the most successful way for you to promote your business? I found the most successful way to promote my business is by doing shows and actually talking to all of you moms in person! Word of mouth has been a huge way that my business has grown into what it is today! I’ve come a long way in this last year!

How did you choose the name for your business? Originally I could not for the life of me figure out a name that I thought fit good for my business so I ended up using the first initial of my husbands name, my name and my son masons! But I have been wanting to change it to represent my boys any suggestions send my way haha !

How do you balance having kids & running a business? The balance between having a business and spending time with my kids is a bit of a challenge sometimes. I normally get all my sewing done while they nap or late at night when I get them to sleep! Sometimes it doesn’t always work out in my favour, when they decide they wanna sleep at different times, but I make it work the best I can.

What has been most challenging about starting your own business?The cost of starting up a business I found was a huge challenge. Being a young mom while also being in school with only having my business as an income was a struggle. For the first 2 years most of the money I got from sales went straight back into building up my inventory. It’s been a slow progression but I’m happy with where I am at this point!

What have you found most supportive when starting your business?

I’ve found all the lovely people who support local small businesses to be the most supportive part! Without all of you I wouldn’t be where I am today, so I truly am so thankful with all the love and support I get from all the locals who support my dream!


Coffee or tea? Tea

Neutral or colourful? Neutral

Morning or night? Night

Wine or beer? Wine

Starbucks or Tim Hortons? Starbucks

Online shopping or in store? In Store

Instagram or Facebook? Instagram

Text or phone call? Text



@Camara.Crew Stamp of Approval

I absolutely adore Jessica and her clothing company! I love that she is a fellow Hamiltonian and I have enjoyed following her on Instagram learning more about her story. We first purchased the adorable Donut Romper pictured below for Lily's 2nd birthday photoshoot. As soon as I saw Jessica post this on her Instagram I knew I had to get one for Lily as she is donut obsessed!! I loved the design of the romper, especially the crisscrossed back! When I got my hands on the peplum shirt pictured below I fell in love just as much as I did with Lily's romper! The fabric is buttery soft and the pattern is perfect for fall. We've had this shirt for a short period of time and Lily has already got so much wear out of it. Since Lily has worn it so much the shirt has been washed a handful of times and definitely gets the mommy stamp of approval for quality!



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page