top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - JR Story Tellers

Updated: Aug 13, 2019

Meet Jason the father and author behind JR Storytellers. JR Storytellers is a children's book publishing and storytelling company dedicated to creating stories that entertain children and support the development of their courage, self-worth, and well-being. Jason's written two books that my children and I absolutely love; My Mom, My Superhero and Nothing But...YET.

Do you have kids? If so how many & age? 2 daughters. 4yrs and 2yrs years old. What's one thing people probably don't know about you?

I enjoy eating fried bananas and toast. Are you a stay at home dad? I wish!! I work as the Director of Training and Franchise Development at a sports education company for children called Sportball.

What is your favourite thing to do for yourself? Workout, play basketball, read, write (of course) and spend time with my family and friends.

What is your favourite date night activity? Eating! Love going out to dinner with my wife. Maybe take in a movie, symphony or a production but mostly eating.

What's one thing you couldn't live without? My children and... coconut water.

Who's your IG inspiration? I enjoy Gary Vee's posts, and any parent, sports or fitness account. Also love wild animal videos.

What advice would you give your younger self? Be kind to everyone you meet. Don't chase money. Give without expectation. Be yourself. Just do right.Invest in Microsoft, google and Facebook.

Where is business located out of?

Toronto, Ontario. Online website

How do you balance having kids & running a business? With great patience and determination. I work on the business after my kids are asleep and/or before they wake up so that I minimize time taken away from my family. I have an amazing wife who supports me and allows me to take risks and chase my crazy dreams.

Where can people find your books? On my website or Facebook page.

What advice can you give someone looking to start up their own business?

Talk to people who have already experienced success in your field of business. Build your foundation first and do work for free. Let people sample your product or service so that you can also learn and grow with minimal pressure. Be ultra patient with yourself and your business.

What sets your business apart from others alike? We not only create great stories, we are also talented storytellers who know how to capture the imaginations of children and create teachable moments.

What is the most challenging part of running your business? Wearing the many hats that come with the territory like marketing, HR, Business Development, social media, administration, etc. It's a lot of responsibility.

What inspired you to write a book? How did you choose the titles and topics? I always wanted to create something that has the potential to have a positive impact on people I may never meet, especially children. I also wanted my own children to know that it is important to give back and reach their highest potential. To take risks, embrace vulnerability and have the courage to share their story with the world. Whatever it may be.

What does a typical day look like for you? Workout and read my emails Wake up the girls and give them hugs and kisses.Make them breakfast and get them ready and take them to school.Head to the Sportball office to train and support Franchisees and staff. Pick my children up after school. Make them dinner and have some family time before baths and bed.Bathe my children, story-time and then put them to bed. Have a tea with my wife and talk about our day. Read and write and work on my business. meditate & think about all the things i am grateful for.Go to bed Favourite song: Scientist by Cold Play

Dream Vacation: Any island in the South Pacific

Favourite Book: Wouldn't Take Nothing for My Journey Now by Maya Angelou

Dream Job: Professional Basketball Player

Favourite Podcast: Joe Rogan

Dream Car: Ferrari

Favourite Smell: Fresh baked cookies

Dream meal: French toast, pancakes, eggs, sausages, fruit, hash browns, oatmeal, toast and tea.

Favourite item of clothing: My Air Jordan sneaker collection. I have over 20 pairs.

Instagram:

Stamp of Approval:

I always wonder when I am reading a book with Lily what does she actually take away from it? Does she understand the underlying meaning? Does she remember what we read or does it disappear not long after? I think the answer to these questions change from time to time but I have to say with Jason's books Lily remembers them so easily! I was shocked when we finished reading the story how much she took away from both books. I am going to break it down by book and tell you why I love each of them!

My Mom, My Superhero is a beautifully written book showcasing the importance of mothers and the impact they make on their children's and family's life. The first time we read this book Lily stopped me at almost every page and told me how I do the things mentioned in the story with her and Mason or had some comment or story to share similar about the book. I won't forget the firs time we read it, at the end, she closed the book and hugged me. She whispered in my ear, "mommy your my superhero" and cue the tears! I always felt like I was her superhero but some days I feel I come up short, but every time I feel that way I remember this moment and this book.

Nothing But...YET! Is probably my favourite book out of the two. This book showcases the importance of never giving up and that some hard work and dedication can help you achieve your goals. Lily loves reading this book so much she chose to use it as part of the Summer Reading Program for our local library. She had to draw a picture from one of the books and chose to draw a picture of a kid spinning the ball on their finger. I asked her why she chose to draw this part of the book and she said because the boy tried so hard to learn how to do it and he did it! She was so excited for him and told me she wanted to learn how to do it to. I reminded her that with a little hard work, one day she would be able to spin a basketball on her finger, or better yet do whatever her heart desired.

If you are looking for not only a great book to read with your children but one with beautiful messaging then Jason's books are the perfect ones for you!

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page