top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - Lark & Lux



Meet Brittney the mama of 2 and maker behind Lark & Lux designs dressed for bump, breastfeeding and beyond! The inspiration of her dresses came when she was trapped in her car, feeding her infant daughter, all because she didn't dress appropriately. Brittney was in a stage where the size of her body didn't need maternity clothes, but the function required easy access offered by many maternity dresses. Brittney came home that day and cut up the dress she wanted to wear and made it breastfeeding friendly. I year later she has sold over 100 dresses and has 2 designs in market. Talk about a mama on a mission! You won't regret reading the rest of Brittney's story.


Be sure to read till the end for a special discount code!

​


Do you have kids? If so how many & age?

Two! A 2 year old girl and a fresh 7 week old boy! Family is complete!


What's one thing people probably don't know about you?

Because I’m always in a dress and heels, people tend not to believe me when I tell them I’ve summitted Mt Kilimanjaro and done a 3 week trek through the Himalayas. Its true!


Are you a stay at home mom?

For now- though Lark & Lux is my side hustle that is quickly growing!


What is your favourite thing to do for yourself?

Take a hot yoga class, followed by a hot bath, with a cold glass of wine. Happens once every 5 years when the moon is full, the wind speed is 13 knots, and the temperature is no higher than 23 degrees. So basically, never.


What's one thing you couldn't live without?

My family. I’d be lost!


What's your favourite date night activity?

Does drinking wine count? Having quiet time? But seriously, enjoying a big, rare steak, at an adult restaurant and people watching and chatting with my husband.


Where is business located out of? & what's your favourite thing to do in your hometown?

My business is located in Hamilton, but I have shops in Midland, London, and Burlington carrying my dresses. My favourite thing to in Hamilton is explore our beautiful trails and waterfront, and watch neighbourhoods come back to life.


What has been the most successful way for you to promote your business?

I love using Instagram to connect with moms. There is a lot of ‘down time’ while you’re nursing and/or holding a sleeping baby. Connecting with moms via social media has built a Fearless Feeder tribe in a way i didn’t imagine, but makes sense. Many of us don’t have the same village as women did in generations past, so in a way, this virtual community has developed quite organically and is offering that support system for women who might feel isolated or alone in their journey to breastfeed.


How did you choose the name for your business?

Love this! I wanted something that was evocative of a mama bird feeding her baby (Lark) and the idea that children are the light of your life (Lux is the Latin word for light).


How do you balance having kids & running a business?

Are you asking? I’m not sure I’m balancing! Some days there is more Paw Patrol and Granola bars than I’m comfortable with, but other days I get up early/stay up late/have help from grandparents, and get shit done! Batching my content development and planning ahead is key for me. There are the daily activities of business, like responding to inquires which I can do when I have a few spare minutes. Shipping out orders is an acitivity for us all, so we usually load up the stroller with snacks and head to the park afterwards. The bigger tasks, like inventory and market days, those require more agility and support from all members of my family- which I am so thankful to have their support!


What has been most challenging about starting your own business?

For me, its been not knowing anything about the industry of fashion and trying NOT to talk myself out of pursuing this dream. I’ve had to learn everything about manufacturing, fabric, finishes, marketing, all myself. There were definitely bumps in the road, and some expensive mistakes in the beginning, but I’m glad I learned the lessons for myself. There is no other way to learn in entrepreneurship than by taking a few knocks to the stomach. When you come out on the other side the feeling of accomplishment is so worth it


What have you found most supportive when starting your business?

My husband is a brilliant advertising wizard in his day job, so having his brain working alongside my product and toss ideas to is so amazing. He believes in me even when I want to throw in the towel and get a job at Starbucks.



Coffee or tea? - COFFEE

Neutral or colourful? - NEON

Morning or night? - MORNING

Wine or beer? - WINE

Starbucks or tims?- STARBUCKS

Online shopping or in store? - ONLINE

Instagram or facebook? - INSTAGRAM

Text or phone call? - TEXT


Instagram @larkandlux

Dresses are always available online or through Instagram!


@Camara.Crew Stamp of Approval:

First off, I have to say FOLLOW BRITTNEY ON INSTAGRAM! I love watching her stories and following along on her feed. She is honest, relatable and speaks her truth about breastfeeding which I so appreciate. My breastfeeding journey hasn't been an easy one and there's been many times along my journey that I have messaged Brittney either thanking her for making me not feel alone or for advice. She also makes me laugh which is always great!


Now for her dresses. I have the Melly in Black and it is AMAZING! The fit is beautiful for pregnancy and post-partum. I have gotten so much wear out of my dress its ridiculous. And the fact that it is breastfeeding friendly and so easy to use makes it PERFECT! I wore it when I was at my biggest point of my pregnancy and there was no stretch in the dress post-partum it still fit beautifully even after my growing belly was in it. I also find the fit to be very flattering for all stages as well. Post-partum you can sometimes feel self-conscious of your changing body but the Melly makes you feel amazing! It's great for wearing around the house, out on a date-night or for running errands. Whatever adventure you are going on you will definitely want to take the Melly with you!


FOR 15% OFF USE CODE CREW15 WHEN ORDERING! Code is good from November 30-Dec 14



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page