top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - Little Rebels




There are some people in this world who were born to do something. They were born to make music, laughter, memories and joy in other people's lives. That person is Jen! I am so excited for you guys to get to know Jen, the woman behind Little Rebels Music. Little Rebel classes are carefully crafted and specifically designed Developmental and Music programs for kids 2 months to 3 years. They encourage cognitive learning and muscle development. Each 45 minute class includes a series of fun activities, new-fangled Broadway, and Rock 'n' Roll songs, tactile object play, mirror time and so much more! All the activities are aimed at assisting these amazing tiny humans in reaching those milestone moments. One of the other goals of Little Rebels is to get grown ups out of the house, surrounded by other parents and caregivers going through the same things. In learning these new songs and new ways to stimulate their Little Rebels at home in between classes, grown ups will feel confident, happy, and refreshed with their new repertoire of songs and activities.



Do you have kids? If so how many & age? 

I don’t have any kids of my own. However, I do get to be a super Aunty to my nieces and nephews.


What's one thing people probably don't know about you? I’m actually an introvert-extrovert. I can find it very challenging to be in front of large groups of people, to talk in front of groups, and to go to parties where I don’t know anyone. Which is so strange considering I’m an actor by trade! But I’m also very out-going when I’m either in the mood to be, or I talk myself into it, so it’s an interesting dichotomy!


Are you a stay at home mom/dad?

No kids - but I work in my home and out of my home.


What is your favourite thing to do for yourself?

I love to get regular massages and acupuncture. It started as part of my health journey in 2018, and has turned into my health maintenance journey. 


What is your favourite date night activity?

Going for pre-drinks downtown then off to see live theatre.


What's one thing you couldn't live without?

If we’re talking “things” I couldn’t live without my books. Reading is such an escape for me.

If we’re talking “people” I couldn’t live without my wife. She is my rock.  


Who's your IG inspiration? 

My IG inspiration is a hard one to nail down - I’m so in love with so many of my IG peeps! I think for bringing “realness” I’m inspired by MomsTO & MomsHAMILTON. I think for bringing “heart” I’m inspired by Project Mighty Heart, This Bumpy Adventure, TakeCare Kits, and Social Circle Online. And, I think for aesthetic design I’m inspired by Front Porch Studio, August Kinn and Early Bird & Worm.


What advice would you give your younger self?

Don’t wait until you’re “ready” to do what you want to do. Nothing is ever PERFECT, so JUST JUMP!!! You’ll figure it out as you go. JUST GO!


Where is business located out of? Do you run classes in specific locations or offer home classes? 

Our business model is of the mobile variety :) We run classes out of parents houses all over as well as at a few commercial locations in Toronto; August Kinn on the Danforth, Sapling Child in Leslieville, Tokki in the Junction, and Early Bird & Worm on Roncesvalles. 


How did you choose the name for your business? 

It was actually quite a difficult choice! At the beginning, I didn’t even have a name! It was just me, running my programming with my friends who had recently had babies. They all kept asking - What are we supposed to call your classes??” So, I had a few names on the go: Jenny Beans, Broadway Babies, etc... And I just had to get real with who I wanted to be in this world of childhood development through music. With the help of some of my mama friends we thought Little Rebels Music and Development was perfect because we’re not your average circle time group where we insist the kids sit and listen to us playing instruments for 45 mins. We really encourage movement, independent thinking, and being brave by taking chances! Little Rebels seemed to fit the bill :)


How do you balance being in a marriage and running a business?

The balance was hard to come by. When you’re running your own business you kind of have to say “yes” to every opportunity that comes your way, and this can often mean saying no to your partner, to your family. For the first year and a half of growing Little Rebels, it was just me on my own, so my wife did a lot of the cooking, cleaning, and socializing with our friends and family. After I hired a few more teachers and then finally an administrator, I was able to put time limits on my availability for work, and on my “office hours”. Then it felt like I was really able to balance work life and home life. 


What advice can you give someone looking to start up their own business? 

DO YOUR RESEARCH!!! Make sure you’ve got something that differs you from other companies out there. Do your best to be comparable but with an added *spark* of something unique. 

And also - Don’t wait. You’ll never feel ready. Just go with your gut and keep moving forward.


What sets your business apart from others alike?

I think Little Rebels is different because we’re a company that focuses on development through music - all of our teachers are very hands on, we’re right in there with the kids, none of us are behind an instrument. We encourage independent play while forming routines and patterns. 


What is the most challenging part of running your business? 

The really honest answer to this question is is making all the decisions on my own. Sometimes it can feel really nerve-wracking to know that YOUR decision is the ONLY decision. Sometimes I get scared I'm going to make the wrong choice, or make a choice that changes my business in a way I don't want it to change. It can feel very isolating being in this position. There are notions of perfectionism and doing the "right" thing, not to mention the fear of failure. I push through, of course, and make the decisions and keep the business moving forward, but those feelings definitely seep in. 


What does a typical day look like for you? 

Wake up at 7, steam (for my vocal chords), get my social media posts ready to go, make a coffee, check on emails in case anything needs immediate attention, make sure all of my equipment is ready to go. Have breakfast over a book (right now I’m reading Michelle Obama’s Becoming) Then I head out around 9 for my first class - This is when I call my mom for our morning chats (HANDS FREE OF COURSE), then drive to my second class (checking in on emails in between), then drive to my third class, then head back to the “office” (aka my living room) to tackle admin with Jenna. I then get dinner on the go, prep some fruit for afterwards, clean all of my equipment and get it ready for the next day. Have dinner with my wife, then go for an after dinner walk so we can catch each other up on our days, and then head home for some podcast listening or Netflix watching, and then off to bed around 9:30. 


In a non-typical day we’d throw in a special demo class with Mommy Connections, or MomsTO/HAMILTON, a meeting with Social Circle, a birthday party in the afternoon for some of the kiddos I teach, a venue check visit for a potential new commercial location like at Midtown’s Tiny Tots, and meeting up with my teachers for tea, chats, and troubleshooting.

 

Favourite song: Respect by Erasure

Dream Vacation: Santorini, Greece - for a full month, Greek island hopping with my wife.

Favourite Book: Fall On Your Knees, Ann-Marie MacDonald

Dream Job: I’M DOING IT!!! RUNNING LITTLE REBELS AND TEACHING MY LITTLE REBELS

Favourite Podcast: Grownups Read Things They Wrote as Kids

Dream Car: 1966 Jaguar

Favourite Smell: Coffee brewing in the morning

Dream meal: My mom’s caesar salad, grilled salmon, and basmati rice!

Favourite item of clothing: My ripped up overalls :)




@Camara.Crew Stamp of Approval

From the moment Jen and Louisa walked into my home for the music class I could tell it was going to be a good time. I've never seen children gravitate so easily towards someone as they did Jen. Both her and Louisa are naturals with children and their voices brightened our day. I loved seeing all the smiles on not only the kids but the mama's faces as well. Everyone was interacting and enjoying themselves which made for a great afternoon of fun! Everyone enjoyed themselves so much that afterwards we all started chatting about hosting an 8 week session at my home because we needed more Little Rebels in our life!


What I loved about the music class is it wasn't a sit and follow instruction kind of class. Yes, they encourage the children to interact and participate through various movements, however, they really encouraged the children to use their imagination and explore where they are at developmentally. We had a wide variety of ages in the class from 4 months - 3 years old but Jen and Louisa were able to make all the children feel included and tailor the class to each of their developmental levels. I also really enjoyed the music selection from Disney Classics to some rock n' roll there was music for everyone to enjoy. Now I just wish I could sing the songs as beautifully as Louisa and Jen could!


If you are looking to get your mama friends and babes together for some fun I highly recommend checking out Little Rebels and hosting an 8 week music class! You won't regret the memories, learning and fun to be had for all.


“We had such a blast with Little Rebels Music class, my toddler sang & danced all around with the other toddlers while my 4 month old was amused to all the sounds to hear watching everyone else. Excellent activity for both ages which is awesome for us!” - Kristina
"This class was so much fun! The girls were so awesome with the kids & involved kids of all ages! As a mama it was so heart filling to see my little guy enjoy the upbeat songs & different toys they used!" - Taylor
"I really love how inviting Little Rebels Class was and how warm the instructors were! " - Meaghan


51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page