top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - Little Wildflower


The Little Wildflower handcrafts heirloom dolls out of various fibres.  Becky-Jo tires to re-purpose clothing and other items she finds in thrift shops into clothes for the dolls. Becky-Jo's hope is that any doll you receive from her will become a treasured item that will be passed down through the generations. 

Do you have kids? If so how many & age? We have one daughter who is 4.


What's one thing people probably don't know about you?  I don't have a middle name.


Are you a stay at home mom?  Yes


What is your favourite thing to do for yourself?  Take a nice long hot bath with a good book


What is your favourite date night activity?  Dinner and a movie


What's one thing you couldn't live without?  My Family


Who's your IG inspiration?  @jacquiesews  she makes amazing clothing for children and is the sweetest nicest person


What advice would you give your younger self?  Spend more time with your grandparents


Where is business located out of?  Kimberley, BC, Canada


How did you choose the name for your business?  I've always loved the line...you belong among the wildflowers.  It's always resonated with me.  No two wildflowers are the same.  They grow wild and carefree.  What better way to spend your childhood than being a bit wild, exploring, playing and not having a care in the world...sounds perfect to me.  And so the name Little Wildflowers came to be.  Each doll is unique...no two are the same.  They each have their own personality and it shows in their expressions and the outfits they wear.  


How do you balance having kids & running a business?  It hasn't been easy!  When my daughter was tiny, I would mainly sew when she was napping.  As she grew and naps fell by the wayside, I would wake up around 6AM and sew until she would get up and then back at it again burning the midnight oil when she went to bed at night.  Now that she is in Kindergarten, I am finding this balance a whole lot easier.   I'm able to schedule my days and be a bit more productive.


Where can people find your products?  On my website...  www.littlewildflowers.ca


What advice can you give someone looking to start up their own business?  Do all the hard/boring things first.  Research your market, know what compliance issues you may run into, talk to professionals ( accountants, bankers, lawyers), have all your ducks in a row behind the scenes so that when you launch your business you have only to create.


What sets your business apart from others alike?  There are so many absolutely talented doll makers in the world and especially here in Canada.   I think what sets me apart is all the little accessories that you can get for my dolls.  I love love love details...handknit socks, backpacks and purses, bunny slippers...all the things that make the dolls special and unique.    


What is the most challenging part of running your business?  Time...I need more...and a clone of me would be good too


What does a typical day look like for you?  A typical day has me getting my little one ready for and off to school, then I head up to my studio in our home...create, plan, market...then I pick up my daughter and we try to do something outside after school...a walk or play in the backyard...then its supper time.  We have a little bit of play time in the evening...then it's bath time and off to bed for our daughter and some time with my husband.  


Favourite song:  Hard one...In My Life

Dream Vacation:  Back to Europe...It's amazing

Favourite Book:  The secret garden

Dream Job:  What I'm doing!

Favourite Podcast:  Song Exploder

Dream Car: 1976 Mini Cooper

Favourite Smell: Pine needles in the forest

Dream meal:  Anything with the Fam Jam

Favourite item of clothing:  Jeans



Becky-Jo from Little Wildflower has created the most beautiful and whimsical dolls I have ever seen! I've always wanted to get my girls a special doll, something unique, that they will play with and love as they grow up. But everything I see in stories are either "too babyish" or not unique. I want something that helps encourage them to use their imagination but that they can still snuggle and find comfort in. And let me tell you Becky-Jo has created just that.


What I love about her dolls is that for now, Violet can snuggle hers and begin to develop that attachment to it where she finds comfort in it. Then, as she grows we can add more pieces from Becky-Jo's collection so that Violet can play with it more. She can change it's outfits, put her doll to sleep in Becky-Jo's bed set and use her imagination for her doll to be anything she wants it to be. While at first glance you may think, wow those dolls are pricy what I want you to step back and think about is the following;

  • these are high quality and beautifully handmade dolls. You are getting what you pay for here and it is good quality I can promise you that.

  • this is a product that will grow with your child and they will play with for ages to come. and I would even say can be passed down from generation to generation.

When I invest my money in my children's toys I want to invest in products that are going to last a lifetime and know that I am also supporting a truly amazing business.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page