top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - Lulababy

Updated: Feb 16, 2020

Meet Sarah the proudly Canadian owner of Lulababy. A children's wear brand founded by a Mama of 2 from Toronto, Ontario. With a bustling household filled with children's programs and activities, Sarah was constantly looking for pieces which were versatile and stylish but comfortable that could easily transition from within the home to going outside for daily activities.

Sarah launched mid 2019, and Lulababy is proud to be a brand focused solely on children’s comfort offering thoughtfully designed pieces with their lifestyle and daily activities in mind. Their design process begins and ends with the little ones in mind, offering versatile and stylish children's play and sleepwear. Lulababy products are focused around comfort and functionality for the little ones because we want our littles to always explore, be creative and be mobile as their next adventure is always around the corner!

Do you have kids? If so how many & age? I have 2 kids Boy: 3.5 Girl: 1.5

What's one thing people probably don't know about you? I am Chinese but born and brought up in India, and yes, I speak Hindi :) Are you a stay at home mom? No, I am also a licensed Real Estate agent. I am fortunate that my line of work allows me the flexibility to focus on my business and find a balance to manage my time and work schedule as needed.

What is your favourite thing to do for yourself? Open a book and dive right in without any interruptions. With 2 kids, it’s very rare these days!

What is your favourite date night activity? Going out to eat at a nice restaurant and Of course, hitting up a dessert joint!

What's one thing you couldn't live without? My family

Who's your IG inspiration? All my small business friends in the community!

What advice would you give your younger self? Don’t be afraid to take risks!

Where is business located out of? Markham, Ontario

How did you choose the name for your business?

I started this business inspired by my kids LU - is from my son’s name LUke LA - is from my daughter’s name LeiA How do you balance having kids & running a business? It’s definitely not easy. I work day and night and sometimes I seriously wonder if I even sleep! But there are days I just switch off and take a break when I find an appropriate window. While my work is extremely important to me, it’s equally important I take care of myself and also find the time to spend with my family being my best self.

Where can people find your products? Right now, online at

but we will be at the The Baby Show in April and we try to participate in local markets to get to know our customers.

What advice can you give someone looking to start up their own business? Don’t be in a rush. Take your time to set up everything. Once the planning starts, jump right in with both feet! What sets your business apart from others alike? I would like to think that my product is extremely unique because my core business is children’s sleep and play wear. I only focus on comfort for the child and develop pieces that they can wear and feel comfortable in and foster their creativity. We have a range of products which are very unique in the marketplace such as padded indoor cotton vests, Bamboo blankets and 3 way zipper footed sleepers to name a few :)

What is the most challenging part of running your business? I would say trying to manage my household and also captain this business. Planning for one or two seasons ahead while still trying to grow the business is juggling a lot of timelines!

What does a typical day look like for you? AM: Focused on getting the kids ready for school and drop offs Noon/ Afternoons: Focused around work Early evening: Focused on dinner prep and school pick ups and cleaning the house PM: Family time and bedtime for the kids Late PM/!Early AM: Back to work! :)

Dream Vacation: Bora Bora or the Maldives Favourite Smell: Morning Coffee! Dream meal: Anything sweet! Favourite item of clothing: Leggings!

Instagram:

Contact: hello@lulababy.ca

Stamp of Approval

I am so excited about Mason's new vest! It's been the perfect layering piece for keeping our little man warm, but comfortable! I find it so difficult to dress your kids in the winter when going out. You want them to be warm outside and in the car, but I always know once we arrive at our destination that they will be running around and warm so layers are key for us!

That is why I love this vest. Not only is the design adorable! But, it is the PERFECT layering piece. It layers great over Mason's shirts and onesies and perfectly underneath his winter coat. When we are out shopping or exploring it keeps him nice and warm without being too much. If he gets too warm with it on, its easy to take off and put back on. I also love that if he falls asleep in the car its comfortable for him to nap in when we transition him into his crib. If you are looking for the perfect layering piece to transition you into the spring you must checkout Lulababy. While your at it, head on over to my Instagram page

to enter for a chance to win a vest of your own!

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page