top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - MD Handmade


Meet Michelle the mama and talented maker behind @MDHANDMADE_CAN. Michelle specializes in Handmade sewn items for babies, kids and mamas. Michelle makes reusable snack bags, IKEA Highchair covers, accessories, teething products and more.


Do you have kids? If so how many & age?

Yes Jacob is 4, Violet is almost 2 and number 3 is on the way April 2019.


What's one thing people probably don't know about you?

I have a degree in Fine Arts but all my working career was in Sports and Recreation.


Are you a stay at home mom?

Yes I work MD Handmade from home.


What is your favourite thing to do for yourself?

To drive to Starbucks alone, in peace and quiet.


What's one thing you couldn't live without?

Coffee! But really my friends and family are the best and so supportive.


What's your favourite date night activity?

We love to go to dinner and a movie.


What has been the most successful way for you to promote your business? Facebook and Instagram have been amazing for growing my business. Along with local markets.

How did you choose the name for your business?

MD are my initials, and Handmade is what I do :)


How do you balance having kids & running a business? Most days balance is non existent. But being home allows me to be here for my kids when they need me. I aim for a certain number of “work” hours in a day - or a certain number of tasks - and work away at them as the day allows.

What has been most challenging about starting your own business? Probably standing out from others. There are lots of makers out there doing the same things, and there is room for all of us. I think just making my items stand out in a crowd.

What have you found most supportive when starting your business?

Other mama makers! I’ve connected with so many ladies through this business and we support each other and build each other up. It’s great to have connections with other like minded people.


Coffee or tea? Coffee

Neutral or colourful? Both

Morning or night? Night

Wine or beer? Wine

Starbucks or Tim Hortons? Starbucks

Online shopping or in store? Online

Instagram or Facebook? Instagram

Text or phone call? Text

Instagram - @mdhandmade_can


@Camara.Crew Stamp of Approval: After seeing Michelle's products in person I feel like I need to go out and buy an IKEA Highchair just so I can have her make me a cute cover for it! I fell in love with everything that she sent me the moment I opened the package. Lily loves playing with her reusable snack bags. They are the perfect size for holding your kiddos treats. I am all about having an organized diaper bag and Michelle's snack bags are the perfect addition to keeping our bag organized. Lily also loves that she has something special in the diaper bag just for her. The reusable napkin was also a great addition to the package! Lily loves using it! For Mason, Michelle included some teething products and a hat. All of Michelle's teething accessories are made with 100% food grade silicone, non toxic, odor free, lead free, BPA free, mercury free, phosphate free. They are easily cleaned with soap and water and wipeable.

Michelle even threw in some goodies for me. Mama's we all know scrunchies have made a comeback and I have been dying to get my hands on some. Michelle sent me the perfect monochrome scrunchies. I have shorter hair and I love how well the scrunchies hold back my hair into my signature mom bun! The work WAY better than any hair elastic. They also look cute whether in your hair or on your wrist!



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page