top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - Megan Butchard Photography


Meet Megan the mama and photographer behind @meganbutchardphotography from Burlington Ontario. Megan shoots primarily in Hamilton, Waterdown and Oakville area. Her photography work speaks for itself as it is absolutely beautiful. She captures the most special and memorable moments in a photo that you will look back on for years to come.


Do you have kids? If so how many & age?

I have 2 boys, ages 7 and 10 months. What's one thing people probably don't know about you? I'm from BC! Moved here when I was 10 years old.  Are you a stay at home mom?

Right now I'm on mat leave but we are having the conversation about me going full time with my business which means I will be home during the day with Oliver.  What is your favourite thing to do for yourself? Either run errands alone, or have a long hot shower with the door locked.  What is your favourite date night activity?

Either an escape room with friends, or just a casual dinner with lots of conversation.  What's one thing you couldn't live without? Coffee. Who's your IG inspiration? I serious have so many accounts that I love. Chapters is a big one that I drool over daily. I'm also a Jillian Harris fan and just love her feed and feel.  What advice would you give your younger self? Don't let anyone stop you from doing something that means a lot to you. Take that job, take more risks, go out there and shake more hands.  How did you choose the name for your business? Easy, it's my name ;) How do you balance having kids & running a business? I don't. It's crazy and chaos all the time. There is no balance at the moment. Hoping that I can even it all out soon by giving myself 'office' hours and 'home' hours. Where can people find your products? Send me an email and I can send you all my session info.  What advice can you give someone looking to start up their own business? Don't be afraid to take risks, go out and network, and always make sure you are learning. What sets your business apart from others alike? There are a lot of other photos out there that offer the same things as I do. It's a saturated market. I'm hoping that my down to earth, mom of two personality, along with my style and pricing is what sets me apart.  What is the most challenging part of running your business? Setting aside time for family. I find that all my free time going into the business and some how the hours turn into days.  Coffee or tea? Coffee Neutral or colourful? Neutral Morning or night? Morning Wine or beer? Wine Starbucks or Tim Hortons? Starbucks Online shopping or in store? Depends on what I'buying/what pjs I'm wearing Instagram or Facebook? Instagram Text or phone call? Text

@Camara.Crew Stamp of Approval:

Doing a family photo shoot is never easy when you have a toddler and a husband who do not like having their photo taken. It can be especially nerve wracking when you are not comfortable being in front of the camera working with someone who you have not met before. I felt like I already knew Megan from chatting with her on Instagram and following along on her photography and motherhood journey. However, the rest of my family had not met Megan before. I have to say I was so impressed with her ability to connect with me and my family. That is something that is so important for us when choosing a photographer. Chris and I can pretty much adapt to anything but when it comes to the kids you need a photographer who is patient, understanding and works well with kids. Well let me tell you Megan is all 3 of those things and more. Mason warmed up to her very quickly and had no problems letting her take his photos. He even decided that day that he wanted to sit up on his own for longer then 3 seconds so Megan could get some photos of him sitting up. Lily was not overly impressed about someone new being in our home and having to have her photo taken. All morning she had cooperated with me and was talking about taking photos with her brother. But you know how toddlers are, they easily can change how they feel about situations. This was where I was really impressed by Megan. She did not push Lily or try to force her to have her photo taken. It was nice because we chose to do the photo shoot in our home so Lily was able to hang out in our bedroom where she was comfortable while Megan started getting photos of Mason. It gave Lily some time to warm up to Megan being here. Eventually I was able to convince her to come into the room to play with the balloons with us. The balloons were such a great distraction for Lily and looked super cute in the photos! Great way to persuade your toddler to participate! Lily was fine as long as Megan wasn't physically in the room so Megan did just that. She stayed outside of the room and took the photos from the door. Lily hardly noticed she was there and Megan captured the most amazing photos.


When I received the photos from Megan I was absolutely blown away. I was left speechless and with tears in my eyes. She captured so many special moments from Mason sitting for the first time, to us being silly as a family but my most favourite is the love between Mason and I. I know my boy loves me and how deeply I love him. But, to see the love we have for each other in the photos Megan captured was absolutely beautiful. I honestly think the photos speak for themselves. Whenever people ask me about these photos I tell them that Megan was able to capture not just a moment but an emotion. She captured the chaos, beauty, kisses, laughter and smiles that makes up the Camara Crew. I feel so blessed that we were able to collaborate with Megan and that she captured these special moments for us.



26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page