top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - Monkey & Toad Co.


Meet Emily, the mama of 3 little boys and maker behind @monkeytoadco. Monkey & Toad offers quality handmade clothing for children. Emily offers a variety of different styles for both girls and boys using mostly custom printed fabrics designed in Canada!


Do you have kids? If so how many & age? 

I have 3 little boys - 5, 2 and 1

What's one thing people probably don't know about you? Up until 2.5 years ago, I was a Veterinary Technician and had never touched a sewing machine before!

Are you a stay at home mom? Yes, after Carter was born I was lucky enough not to have to go back to work.

What is your favourite thing to do for yourself? Although I don't get too  much time to myself, I do love going to get a pedicure!

What is your favourite date night activity?

A nice dinner out with peace and quiet :)

What's one thing you couldn't live without? Chocolate

Who's your IG inspiration? 

I'm still getting used to Instagram really, but I love following other local small shops and small shop supporters.  I love following @spottheelephant and seeing all her beautiful creations.

What advice would you give your younger self? Never settle for less than you deserve

Where is business located out of?

Up until a couple of weeks ago, my dining room was a sewing area! We have now turned an extra room into my dedicated sewing space and I love it!

How did you choose the name for your business? 

When I started Monkey & Toad in 2017, I had two boys - Maxs nickname is "Toad" and Carters nickname is "Monkey" - voila Monkey & Toad.

How do you balance having kids & running a business? 

It's hard, really hard. It's taken a lot of time to figure things out - trying to look after my boys and work at the same time was just not working.  I wasn't able to give 100% to either things, so I decided to separate the two the best I can. When my boys are awake, I am focused entirely on them. Whenever they are sleeping, it's my time to work! I am not as active on social media as a lot of other small shops, and that's because I just couldn't balance everything.

Where can people find your products?

Most of my orders are custom orders - and I love creating one of a kind pieces.

My products are also available at Mother Moose Boutique in London.

Last year I went in a few craft shows and loved it. I plan to attend a couple in the spring.

What advice can you give someone looking to start up their own business? 

Have fun & stay true to yourself!

What sets your business apart from others alike?

I try to find unique and fun prints that will set me apart, as well as new styles that others are not offering.

What is the most challenging part of running your business? 

Finding the time to create.

Coffee or tea?  Coffee Neutral or colourful? Neutral Morning or night? Night Wine or beer? Wine Starbucks or tims? Hmmmm.... Tims more often. Online shopping or in store? Online Instagram or Facebook? I'm learning to love instagram ;) Text or phone call? Text


@Camara.Crew Stamp of Approval:

Emily makes probably the softest and coziest clothing I have received for my children. I could not get over the amazing quality of the fabrics that she chose to use. You can tell that she puts a lot of pride in her work and ensuring that the fabrics that she chooses are durable and cozy! I can assure you the fabrics are durable as I have probably washed Mason's cardigan a thousand times because he spits up so much and it looks just like it did the day it arrived. My favourite items that Emily sent were the cardigans for Lily and Mason. Cardigans are not something that you see very often in stores, especially for babies. They are a great layering option for your kids and they look so stylish! For Mason I went with a black cardigan so it goes with a lot of his wardrobe. Lily we went with a floral pattern that I absolutely love. It is so beautiful in person and perfect for spring! We also got a pair of pants for Mason. They are beautifully made and fit Mason great. He is a big chunkier and I find that he has lots of room in the pants. The fabric is so soft and cozy! Mason looks comfortable and stylish when he wears them.


33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page