top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - Mui & Kai



Meet Steph and her family! They are the makers and inspiration behind mui + kai creating hip hop inspired, premium threads for your littles. They are proud to have their clothes ethically made in Canada!




Do you have kids? If so how many & age? Yes, two little homies almost exactly 3 years apart. Charlie (girl) will be turning 4 and Carter (boy) will be turning 1 in March.


What’s one thing people probably don’t know about you? I’m embarrasingly obsessed with all the Real Housewives franchises



Are you a stay at home mom?  No. I think it's the hardest job on earth. I’ll be going back to work full-time in March.


What is your favourite thing to do for yourself? Oddly enough, the thing I do for myself is work. It’s why I started this business. It gives me a different sense of accomplishment and I love the challenge. To relax though, I like to take a nice long bath while watching Real Housewives, lol!


What is your favourite date night activity? Going to the movies


What’s one thing you couldn’t live without? Besides my family, Blistex lip balm


Who’s your IG inspiration? OVer Collective (@overcollective). They have a gorgeous and luxe aesthetic that’s executed consistently. It gives their brand a clear persona. That consistency can be really hard to accomplish, especially when working with customers’ photos. They’ve done a beautiful job.


What advice would you give your younger self? Don’t be afraid to ask for what you want.


Where is business located out of? My basement. Sometimes my kitchen table.


How did you choose the name for your business? It’s named after our children. “Mui” is the Cantonese word for sister, which is what we call Charlie. “Kai" is part of Carter’s middle name. 


How do you balance having kids & running a business? I don’t think I do, lol! Balance probably isn’t the right word for the way I work. I maximize every 15 mins pocket of time, every nap and after the kids go to bed for the business. Check out a day in my life of mommin’ and starting a business here: https://muiandkai.com/blogs/momtrepreneur-life/momtrepreneur-a-day-in-the-life


Where can people find your products? On my website (https://muiandkai.com) and at various markets/pop-ups across the GTA


What advice can you give someone looking to start up their own business? Start building a community of other business owners in your category and prospective customers even before you launch. That way you have a network that’s ready to support you when you officially open. 


What sets your business apart from others alike? Our designs are dope but what really sets us apart is our commitment to ethical manufacturing. I didn’t want to clothe babies in apparel made by exploited workers, many of which are kids themselves. I work very closely with local partners to make sure that everything is created by people who are paid and treated fairly. Looking dope shouldn’t cause harm to others.


What is the most challenging part of running your business? The financial risk. I need to create and pay for the full inventory upfront. It’s really scary because I don’t know how much of it I’ll be able to sell.


Coffee or tea? Coffee! Definitely coffee


Neutral or colourful? Neutral. That’s why my entire line is pretty much black. 


Morning or night? Night because my time is my own once the kids go to sleep.


Wine or beer? Wine with bubbles :) This girl loves some Prosecco!


Starbucks or Tims? Starbucks


Online shopping or in store? Online. There’s no way my kids will cooperate long enough for me to shop in stores anymore.


Instagram or Facebook? Instagram


Text or phone call? Text. Isn’t that awful?


Instagram: @mui_and_kai


@Camara.Crew Stamp of Approval:

Mui & Kai's clothing is a monochrome and trendy parent's dream! They have the hippest and trendiest sayings that you will make your little look like a rockstar. If I didn't have to wash Mason't clothes so often I honestly would wear his Mui & Kai outfit on him everyday cause he looks like such a stud. We got the black joggers with patterned pockets. They immediately jumped out to me and I could not resist! They are a slim fit jogger which I love, but keep in mind you might want to size up if you are concerned about the slimmer fit. Mason is a bit chunkier and I sized up for him and he will get lots of wear out of his. Then we got the "Crawl Before You Ball" shirt. I chose this shirt one because it is absolutely adorable and matches the pattern on the pockets of the joggers. But also because the saying is based on Steph's child trying to walk before he could crawl. And I have a funny feeling that is going to be Mason. He isn't even crawling yet and he has started to stand up on his own.


Other than their clothing, I also love that the they are through and through a family run business. Steph and her husband work effortlessly to produce high quality and ethically made clothing from and made in Canada! And their two little ones are the inspiration behind the company. Isn't that the sweetest thing? Another thing I really love and is important to me is that clothing is ethically made and sustainable. Steph and her family strive to provide clothes that not only keep your kiddo's looking fresh but comfortable too. They also want you to feel comfortable putting your child in the clothing. Mui & Kai uses sustainable fabrics , such as bamboo to help reduce harm to the environment and to your child's sensitive skin.


While your checking out their website be sure to click on "The B-Side" and check out Steph's Blog. She has covered a lot of great topics that I am sure many of you can relate to.


67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page