top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - Paper Loves Paint


Ever been gifted something that gives you chills and instantly brings the sappiest happy tears to your eyes? Well that is what a painting by Paper Loves Paint will do to you! Natasha is an extremely talented painter who does watercolour portraits of people's loved ones. Natasha paints the portraits by looking at digital images sent to her by her customers. Natasha can also place living loves one with passed away relatives that never had a chance to meet. Keep reading to learn more about Natasha and why she started her business and then keep scrolling to see the people painting she created for my family.

Do you have kids? If so how many & age? I have 2 kids and one on the way. Currently ages 3 and 15 months.


What's one thing people probably don't know about you?Before I started this venture a year ago, nobody knew I even painted! I also have a little side gig with my husband who is an architectural designer called Venetian Plaster which is decorative interior finishings.



Are you a stay at home mom?

I am a stay at home mom with my own business of painting watercolour portraits. What is your favourite thing to do for yourself? Go for long walks listening to my favourite podcasts. And long baths.

What is your favourite date night activity?

Anything that involves delicious food, especially pizza! What's one thing you couldn't live without?

Coffee Who's your IG inspiration?

I gravitate towards a lot of interior design accounts. Some include @semihandmade, @thehomeedit, @zioandsons, @eyeswoon.

What advice would you give your younger self Don’t be scared to change career paths.


Where is business located out of?

I run my business from my home in Hamilton, Ontario. I can ship anywhere. How did you choose the name for your business?

I wanted something easy and catchy! How do you balance having kids & running a business?

It’s not easy that’s for sure. I get help from my family members throughout the week. I also work a lot of evenings once they go to sleep. Where can people find your products?

I get most of my business through Instagram, but I also have a shop on Etsy and a Facebook page. What advice can you give someone looking to start up their own business?

Believe in your work, know it's worth and make sure your pricing reflects that.

What sets your business apart from others alike?

I believe what I do is pretty unique, though I’m sure there are other portrait artists out there! I try to make it easy for the customer to connect and order a painting. I think because my business is essentially contactless it has been doing great during Covid times.

What is the most challenging part of running your business?

The most challenging part is finding the time to work with two small kids. Managing work, toddlers and maintaining a house is a balancing act I’m not sure I’ve quite figured out yet.

What does a typical day look like for you? It depends if I’m working that day or just spending the day with my girls. Days off of work is solely dedicated to them and finding fun things to do. We are avid park goers and love to go for walks. We also love baking and cooking so that’s usually done together too!

Favourite song: Blue Bayou by Roy Orbison Dream Vacation: Southern Italy Dream Job: Crime podcast host Favourite Podcast: Crime Junkies, Absolutely Not, Casefile Dream Car: Tesla Favourite Smell: Baies candle from Diptyque Dream meal: My nonnas cooking which I miss Favourite item of clothing: I'm a sucker for oversized knit sweaters



I love artwork but Natasha's work is more than that. It is a story, a moment in time, beautiful, and provokes emotions in you that you wouldn't even imagine. When you look at her work you look in amazement so much that you don't want to look away. I look at my kids all day and I still want to stare at this painting she made before I go to bed.


I cannot believe how she was able to capture Chris' and my children so beautifully. She made it look exactly like the images I sent her. She used a different photo of Mason then the one of Lily and Violet together simply due to positioning but you would never know. All 3 of my kiddos look exactly like they do when I look into their big beautiful eyes in person.


This is a piece of artwork that I am going to cherish for years to come and enjoy showing off whenever people are able to come over and visit our home and family. If you are looking for a timeless gift, some new artwork for your home, or for a way to have a photograph created with a loved one who is no longer with you I highly recommend contacting Natasha. She is a joy to work with and you will love not only her work but getting to know her as well.


Here is the images that I sent Natasha to use for her inspiration

(photographs by Ashley Schmidt Photography) Here is the beautiful painting that Natasha created that I chose to put on my end table so that every night the last thing I see are my babies before I go to sleep and the first thing I see in the morning when I wake up!



50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page