top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - Personal Treasures



I am excited to feature another Hamilton business, Personal Treasures ran by Leona! Leona hand paints and hand letters personalized gifts such as signs for the home, prints in frames or one of a kind items. I love how much creativity, talent and hardworking women there are right in my hometown. It truly is inspiring getting to know these women especially when I feel like I can relate to them on some level after learning more about them and their company. This is why I enjoy connecting with makers on social media and having a platform to tell their story with the rest of you. Their stories are what makes them unique and relatable and in my opinion showcases the importance of supporting small shops, especially in your hometown!


I can definitely relate to Leona's feeling of always being "on". I have always experienced the feeling where I can't shut my brain off, especially after becoming a mom I feel like it went into overdrive. I admire her ability to use her creativity and imagination to help her cope with her anxiety! I to have always enjoyed scrapbooking or reading a book to help me shut my brain off for a little while. And I have really tried to be mindful of the fact that I need to take time to shut down.


What's one thing people probably don't know about you?

I have developed a lot of anxiety over the years, so a lot of everyday interactions or menial tasks can be really difficult for me. I tend to need a lot more "recharge" time if I'm feeling overwhelmed with my work/life balance.



What is your favourite thing to do for yourself?

I love to cook and try new recipes. I like having movies on in the background, and I take my time while I chop and prepare the food. It usually takes me twice as long as the recipe says because of how relaxed I am while I cook.


What's one thing you couldn't live without?

Pasta. ok maybe that's dramatic. I couldn't live without my ability to be creative, and maybe that's corny, but it's something as simple as reading a book and imagining that world in my head, or doodling in my notebook while watching a movie. My brain feels like it's always "on", I never have a quiet moment, so it's always amazing to use that brain power to be creative


What's your favourite date night activity?

If we're going out, my partner Matt and I enjoy eating really really good food and supporting local business.


Where is business located out of? & what's your favourite thing to do in your hometown?

I live in Hamilton, Ontario, and do all of my painting at home. My favourite thing to do in Hamilton is hike and discover all of the amazing waterfalls


What has been the most successful way for you to promote your business?

Word of mouth has helped me so much. Doing special orders for friends and family, and having them pass along my information to their friends and family!


How did you choose the name for your business?

I have always loved pirates, and I was trying to come up with something related to treasure hunting. One of my favourite past times is thrifting or antique shopping, finding one of a kind items. My friend Amanda and I sat with a list of related words trying to come up with something until the combination Personal Treasures was the result


What has been most challenging about starting your own business?

Trying to balance my full time job, while doing Personal Treasures on the side. I have found it difficult to get everything done, while still trying to have a social life, exercise, eat well, get enough sleep etc.


What have you found most supportive when starting your business?

My friends and family keep me motivated with their support. They all have some of my artwork in their homes, or my art has been involved with many of their biggest moments like weddings, birthdays, holidays etc. I can always count on them to share my work on social media and recommend me for any projects someone else might have.


Coffee or tea? Tea

Neutral or colourful? Neutral

Morning or night? Night

Wine or beer? Wine

Starbucks or Tim Hortons? Tim Hortons English Breakfast Tea, Starbucks for everything else!

Online shopping or in store? In store

Instagram or Facebook? Instagram

Text or phone call? Text, but I do love the occasional phone call



@CAMARA.CREW Stamp of Approval:

I really enjoyed working with Leona to come up with personalized monthly photo props for Mason. Leona was easy to talk to and great with coming up with ideas based on some photographs I sent her. She was patient with me as I was very indecisive about what I wanted. Leona even made up two samples that I could look at before making a decision. I was very happy with how the photo props turned out! Leona's hand lettering and attention to detail is amazing. We got so many compliments at the hospital on our "Hello I'm New Here" prop. I can't wait to incorporate the rest of the props into Mason's monthly update! Be sure to follow my Instagram to see!




15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page