top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - Stash & Story


Meet Erin & Karla, the mama's and makers behind @StashandStory a functional baby book box that grows and changes as your kids do.


(Erin - left, Karla - right @substanceyyc)

Do you have kids? If so how many & age?

Erin: 2 girls. Ages 8 and 5

Karla: 2 girls. Age 1 and 4


What's one thing people probably don't know about you? Erin: I'm left-handed.


Are you a stay at home mom/dad?

Erin: Yes and no. I have the luxury of working from home, and walking my kiddos to school.

Karla: I work full time at an advertising agency and work on STASH + STORY on the side :)


What is your favourite thing to do for yourself?

Erin: YOGA!

Karla: GOLF & SKIING


What's one thing you couldn't live without?

Erin: My family.

Karla: What she said, family and friends like family.


What's your favourite date night activity?

Erin: A really nice meal out.

Karla Dinner at a new restaurant.


What advice would you give your younger self?

Erin: You're doing great! Keep plugging away. And don't worry so much!

Karla: Don't sweat the small stuff.


Where is business located out of? & what's your favourite thing to do in your hometown?

Calgary, Alberta. We love the mountains, the Calgary Flames, and of course the Calgary Stampede.


How did you choose the name for your business?

It was pretty simple - it's a place to stash your stories and memories, so STASH + STORY was born.


How do you balance having kids & running a business?

I'm not sure I do! Ha! I try my best to switch modes. So when I'm with the kids I'm all about the kids and when I'm working I need to focus on that. It's hard to be in 2 places at once (mentally) so I try to avoid feeling like that.


What has been most challenging about starting your own business?

Getting the product juuuuuust right!


What have you found most supportive when starting your business?

Erin: Karla! She's a great business partner and best friend. She's my very own personal cheerleader.

Karla: Erin, she's the most creative person I know and pours her heart and soul into all projects. Its admirable.


What sets your business apart from those alike?

It's one of a kind in terms of functionality and purpose. And it looks beautiful in any home


Coffee or tea?

Erin - Coffee

Karla - Coffee

Neutral or colourful?

Erin - Neutral

Karla - Neutral

Morning or night?

Erin - Morning

Karla - Morning

Wine or beer?

Erin - Wine

Karla - Wine

Starbucks or Tim Hortons?

Erin - Both

Karla - Starbucks

Online shopping or in store?

Erin - Online

Karla - In store

Instagram or Facebook?

Erin - Instagram

Karla - Instagram

Text or phone call?

Erin - Both

Karla - Text




@Camara.Crew Stamp of Approval:

Documenting my kids milestones and special moments is so important to me. I want to make sure that I have something special that I can look back on and one day pass down to my kids.

I have a special book each for Lily and Mason that I fill out and plan to pass down to them when they are old enough. However I wanted a special book that was just for me. A place where I can write down all Mason's and Lilys milestones but also keep other special things like their artwork, certificates etc. My stash and story book is the perfect place for all of this! Not only is it beautiful on the outside but on the inside too.

I decided to get 2 sets of the papers one for Mason & one for Lily. It all fit perfectly inside the book. This way I have one spot I can look back on both my pregnancies and their milestones. Since the book is made like a binder on the inside I can easily insert special artwork, certificates etc. & keep them safe. The prompts on the pages are perfect for documenting all lifes moments but also gives you space to write freely. There's also room for photos which I loved because I am obsessed with taking pictures. One part of the book I really like is there's a colouring page for each birthday. I love that I will be able to watch how their creativity evolves while colouring these photos.

Overall I am so pleased with my Stash & Story book! It truly is a beautiful keepsake.



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page