top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - The Flower Shack

Updated: Aug 31, 2020


I am so excited for you guys to meet Anne the owner of The Flower Shack. There are so many hidden gems in our own cities that often go unnoticed and I want to make sure that this hidden gem doesn't go unnoticed! Meeting shop owners like Anne, who are truly beautiful inside and out and are passionate about what they do is such an amazing experience. This is what supporting local is all about.


Hi everyone. My name is Anne Vyn. I’m privileged to be married almost 40 years to my best friend, Martin. Together we have 4 + 2 terrific adult kids, and 5 wonderful grandkids.


Gardening has always been a hobby of mine and I love spending time in nature. Enjoying a great book is also therapeutic to me… something non-fiction, thought provoking, and usually with a spiritual dimension.


In the Fall of 2017 I felt compelled to do something different with my life. Two simple but key phrases grounded me during this crazy season of change: “Create beauty” and “Trust the River”. Pressing through much uncertainty and self doubt, I moved forward with plans to open The Flower Shack in Spring 2018.

I intentionally designed the Flower Shack as a place for guests to come enjoy the forest beauty. There’s a wooden swing on site where one can sit with a Tim’s coffee and just enjoy the surroundings. The Shack is stocked with random little items I find here and there. It functions with an honour system so I’m not tied down to staying home. Small mason jar bouquets are available Thursday - Saturday mornings on a first come first serve basis. Many customers are now calling ahead to reserve bouquets for pickup on my front porch.


I grow all my own flowers which means only a few months of availability but that’s how I like it….a short season of hard work and then a winter to recover :)


One of the books I recommend to those looking to start their own business (or tackle any major life change) is “The War of Art”, by Steven Pressfield. It was so helpful to become aware of resistance as a force to contend with, both within myself and often coming from those closest to me. Here’s a great quote from pg.12: “The more important a call or action is to our soul’s evolution, the more Resistance we will feel toward pursuing it.”


Thanks for letting me share a bit of my journey.

I hope you’ll come and visit The Flower Shack @ 446 Butter Road East, Ancaster (near the Hamilton Airport).

Open Thursday - Saturday, 9-5.

Find The Flower Shack on Instagram/Facebook where I post what’s available each week.




We first met Anne and visited her Flower Shack a year ago when a friend recommenced we check out her beautiful flowers. Let me tell you, we were not disappointed. I took Lily and Mason for a drive out to the shack and that's where the beauty started. It is such a beautiful and peaceful drive out to Anne's Flower Shack. Once we arrived, the beauty continued. You park your car and walk along a short path into the trees where Anne has her little shack of beauty and wonder. She setup the perfect little place to bring a coffee, sit and enjoy the beauty of the outdoors. There were toys, a swing to sit on and lots of beautiful flowers to choose from. Unfortunately due to COVID Anne isn't able to have the same setup right now but you will still be amazed by all the beauty on her property and along the drive to her home.


I love that Anne grows all the flowers herself on her property. She takes so much pride and joy into creating flower arrangements that you will truly love. I look forward each week to seeing the different arrangements that Anne comes up with and how she creatively uses the flowers from her own garden.


It's been so nice getting to know Anne and chatting with her when I go to pick up our flowers. She really is a wonderful person which makes supporting her business even more enjoyable.


I highly recommend checking out The Flower Shack if you are looking for a gift or some flowers to spruce up your home! I guarantee they will bring a smile to your face.


246 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page