top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - The Slumber Fairy



Today I am excited to share one of the most magical businesses who specialize particularly in making the most amazing memories for your children. I am talking about Slumber Fairy Hamilton, owned by fellow Hamiltonian Sasha. Sasha and her Slumber Fairy team bring magic to any event and specialize in creating the slumber parties that dreams are made of. They offer inclusive, no work, eco conscious party packages with that WOW factor! This includes everything from the setup of 5 foot tents, beds and linen, comfy duvets, decorative pillows and other special decoration sand treats! The best part? Slumber Fairy does all of the clean up afterwards.


But if you're looking to spice up your adult girls night out, Slumber Fairy also makes the perfect backdrop for creating that pampered feeling at your besties bachelorette party, the long overdue girls night out you've been trying to plan or the perfect kiddy zone for your dream wedding.


While Slumber Fairy loves making memories one sleepover at a time, they are also available for daytime events such as garden tea parties, photo shoot backdrops and more! You have a creative vision, Slumber party is there to help!



Do you have kids? If so how many & age?

Yes 2 amazing girls 5 and 9


What is one thing people probably don't know about you?

I have a disability


Are you a stay at home mom?

Yes…a homeschooling mom!


What is your favourite thing to do for yourself?

Sit in nature with a coffee or friend.Camping, fishing, beach or backyard, nature trail or park…just being outdoors!


What is your favourite date night activity?

We love to do it big and usually save our nights out for really exiting things like rock concerts or

adventuring around town and and seeing what we can get up to! Sometimes it’s sitting on the rocks by the lake with a bottle of wine and chatting and sometimes it’s hitting up the go cart track or a haunted house in Niagara Falls.


What is one thing you couldn't live without?

My car! I depend on it for everything and am always out and about running errands, getting kids to

various activities or traveling to events.


Who is your IG inspiration?

I’m going to be completely honest (as always) and tell you that I am terrible at social media and it was always the worst part of running a biz for me and my biggest stressor until I found Marley Tuffts. It felt so daunting to me and is something that I would agonize about and out off. It’s that one thing for me that I just need help with but of course I love looking at all the gorgeous ones and am inspired really by the ones who are giving back to the community in various ways and am working on how I can give back!


What advice would you give your younger self

Don’t waist time stressing about the what if’s and just get started! Have patience with yourself and just keep focused on what needs to be done today. The best advice in business that I’ve ever been given and surely we’ve all heard of is the K.I.SS. rule (Keep It Simple Stupid) and it’s really so true because we can get carried away with our expectations and they often will get in the way of doing something great.


Where is business located out of? What areas do you service?

We are located in lower Stoney Creek where I grew up! We service from Oakville to Niagara and

everything in between!


How did you choose the name for your business?

Again the credit goes to Marley, she’s doesn’t just do my social media she’s way more than just a

content creator! She supports me and my business in all areas and she came up with the name when we were having a meeting and bouncing ideas back and forth…she came up with it because I love fairy’s and all things magical and my kids screamed with excitement and it had to be The Slumber Fairy!


How do you balance having kids & running a business?

I’ll admit I don’t really strive to “find a balance” that philosophy doesn’t really jive with my life

hahahaha! I’ve always been the type to do my best at whatever I happened to be doing and still do but have had to adjust my expectations ever since my accident and becoming disabled. My body dictates my abilities and they are definitely limited in comparison so credit for any sort of “balance” in our life definitely goes to my hard working husband who does the things that I can’t and also cooks a kick ass homemade meal every night after work. The only reason it all works is that we work together as a team and keep our expectations in check while also having understanding and patience for one another. We both do our best to keep things running as smoothly as possible but sometimes nothing gets done around the house and we play watch movies and play video games with the kids and some days we’re repainting the kitchen and cleaning out the garage. For us that’s the key, giving our best as often as we can and resting when we need it even if that means canceled plans or dishes left piled up in the sink to worry about tomorrow.


How can people book your services?

Through my “Book Now” page on my website @ www.theslumberfairy.com/ca

Or you can send a message through email theslumberfairy@gmail.com and on Facebook or Instagram @Slumber Fairy Hamilton


If you prefer to chat I’m happy to answer any questions and customize themes and choice to fit your

needs 289-442-0433 or shoot me a text if that’s best!


What advice can you give someone looking to start up their own business?

Start small and start smart. By this I mean; do something you are good at already or enjoy doing,

something that fits in with your life/schedule and something that doesn’t require overwhelming

financial/time/energy investments. Starting small and growing a business you genuinely love doing will ensure long term success. You can always adapt and grow and even change directions.


What sets your business apart from others alike?

There are a few things that come to mind; firstly our eco conscious view, by using chemical free cleaning products, reusable/customizable signs and banners and edible or useful eco friendly “loot” items we are diverting waste and eliminating the need for throw away items that parties are famous for! Secondly our attention to detail and custom theme offerings and last but not least our exceptional customer service and ability to crate unique and personalized experiences.


What is the most challenging part of running your business?

I’d have to say the physical aspect is what challenges me but is also what I’m most proud of. There are lots of things I cannot do because I have physical limitations but this I can do and I’m always impressed when it’s done!


What does a typical day look like for you?

Well….every day is different! Unschooling is definitely and adventure and opportunities to learn are everywhere! My youngest chose to try SK this year and attends every other day while my oldest

homeschools full time. We have co-op homeschooling some days and other days we are hiking or

exploring in nature, attending interesting events or outings or participating in community events that we find important, interesting or inspiring! There’s also dance classes, swimming lessons, play dates and project’s always on the go. Some days look different though and are filled with fun crafts, board games and decorating the house, hot chocolate after a good time at the park, visiting grandparents and helping out or baking treats and smoothie making. We usually do our shopping as a family and and house chores are a family effort too with guidance, reminders and encouragement for the littles.


Once dad gets home it’s time for a break for mom and kids will watch a tv show until dinner is ready unless there are simple jobs they can help with for dinner (they like to help cook) and if there are no lessons that night then we will read or work on things around the house while the kids play or watch a family movie and make popcorn. On the weekends we usually are hosting friends and family or heading out with the kids to go and explore festivals and events and all that the city has to offer!


Favourite song: I’ve never been able to answer this question! Music is a big part of my life and I could never choose just one! I love everything from oldies to jazz, rock to old school rap and almost everything in between.

Dream Vacation: Touring Europe and visiting all the historical places with breathtaking architecture.

Favourite Book: Also hard! I’m an information sponge and love learning. I read for many reasons though, I love fantasy (Lord of the Rings) to escape and I love science based non-fiction for fact collection but I also love philosophy and self empowerment books. Right now I’m reading Free to Learn by Peter Gray

Dream Job: Restaurant Critic

Favourite Podcast: I’ve been meaning to try and find time to find a favourite…any suggestions?

Dream Car: Porsche Spider

Favourite Smell: The Forest in fall

Dream meal: Thai Green Currie

Favourite item of clothing: A nice comfy sweatshirt


@Camara.Crew Stamp of Approval: I feel so blessed to have met Sasha and her amazing company The Slumber Fairy. She created the most magical and memorable day and night for me and my girl. I kept this special collaboration a surprise from Lily and I am so glad that I did.


Her and I were in dire need of some mommy daughter time so this collaboration game at the perfect time! I counted down the minutes that Lily arrived home so I could show her the special surprise we had for her. Sasha showed up with all of her goodies and turned our basement into the dream slumber party for Lily and I. All complete with two high quality tents, TV trays, lights, decorations, donuts, and more! Sasha didn't leave one detail out. As you can see from the photos, she puts a lot of effort into putting together the perfect slumber party for you. All of which is customizable to you!


I want to start off by staying how impressed I was by the quality of all of the products. I was concerned about the size of the tent and the mattresses being comfortable enough for me to sleep on. Lily she will sleep on anything but momma, especially being pregnant not so much. There was plenty of room in the tent for me to sleep comfortably. The air mattresses she uses are high quality and I had no issue dozing off and having sweet dreams along with my girl. When Lily walked into the basement she was so excited. I have never seen her light up and what was amazing is she was most excited that it was all for her and I. She quickly claimed her own tent and made it a place of her own. She loved exploring all of the lights and decorations that Sasha put together for us. Mason got to join in on some of the fun with us before bedtime too. What was great is that he wasn't able to destroy the tents - that's how sturdy they are!


But then it was time for bed and girl time. Lily and I snuggled up in our tents and watched a movie together. But not before filling our TV trays with lots of snacks including the delicious donuts provided by Slumber Fairy. This was a night that I will never forget all thanks to the Slumber Fairy.


If you are looking for the perfect mommy-daughter date, slumber party, bachelorette party or just to have some fun! You have to contact Slumber Fairy today to make all your wishes and dreams come true.


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page