top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - This&That Design Co.


Meet Sydney & Marlene! They are a mother-daughter duo from Hamilton, Ontario and the brains and beauty behind This and That Design Co. Sydney and Marlene make makeup and travel bags in a variety of every changing prints. All of their bags are lined with a water-resistant fabric and are machine washable #amothersdream


I am excited to say that they are the first company that I am featuring in my new series called “Meet the Maker”. I couldn’t resist featuring a fellow Hamiltonian Company especially when their bags are AMAZING! Let’s get to know Sydney.


Left -Sydney//Right - Marlene

Do you have kids? If so how many & age?

Nope! But I have a nephew and he's two.


What's one thing people probably don't know about you?

I'm obsessed with coffee and have a coffee tattoo. I also used to be a photographer!

What is your favourite thing to do for yourself?

I love to eat out and try new restaurants in the city - that also means I can support other small businesses.


What's one thing you couldn't live without?

My car - I basically live in it... haha

Who's your IG inspiration?

That's a hard one. I love @jacimariesmith for photo inspiration and @jillian.harris for being an amazing boss babe!

How did you choose the name for your business?

We wanted to go with something that we could keep fairly open because we weren't entirely sure what we would branch out into. We tried makeup bags and it really stuck!

What is the most challenging part of running your business?

I'd say the hardest part of running a business for me is trying to choose prints. I'm so thankful to have my mom for a second opinion when I can't choose between prints. There's always so many incredible fabrics out there but you're always going with your gut and choosing things that you love vs. things that are trendy.


Coffee or tea?

Coffee - 100%!

Neutral or colourful?

Neutral.

Morning or night?

Night but I've had to become a morning person.

Wine or beer?

Depends! Wine for relaxing at home or girl’s night but if they've got a good sour beer and I'm on a patio - beer.

Starbucks or Tim Hortons?

Starbucks

Online shopping or in store?

In store!


This and That Design Co. can also be found at the following shops:

Hamilton Ontario: Vintage Charm (James St. N)

Nest (Locke St)

Emerald Coffee Co. (Barton)

Niagara: Craft Arts Market (St.Catharines)

Cherry Lane (Vineland)

Willow Tree (Smithville)



@Camara.Crew Stamp of Approval:

Mom’s I am not kidding you when I say you MUST go to Etsy page right now and purchase a Mama Bag (don’t worry I have a discount code for you…keep reading)! It is by far one of my favourite purchases yet. Not only does it come in some adorable patterns it is practical and helps me forever keep my unorganized diaper bag organized. With a 2nd baby on the way, I am forever looking for products that will help me keep Lily & Mason’s stuff separate but organized and the Mama Bag is going to be perfect for that. While right now I use it for all Lily’s must have’s, when Mason arrives one of the 3 compartments inside the bag can be devoted to him! All of their bags are lined with water resistant fabric and are machine washable which is a mother’s dream.

I also have one of their carry all bags. While much smaller than my Mama Bag I find it perfect for keeping our little items organized and handy. Right now, I am keeping all of our first aid type items in the bag (thermometer, Tylenol, band-aids etc.). I also use this bag for my sunglasses but am thinking I shall get another one to keep my sunglasses in permanently. Now the big question is, WHAT PATTERN?!




0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page