top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - Tiny Tales Story Time


Maria is one of the kindest people I have met. From the moment you meet her, you can see her passion for creating memories for children and families that will last a lifetime. Maria is the owner of Tiny Tales Story Time where she runs a variety of story time programs for children and their caregivers. She currently offers story time for little's between 6 months-3 years old. Each week you will explore a new theme through stories, rhymes and sensory play. All while encouraging your children to investigate, create, explore and spark a love of reading. A brand new class for preschoolers starting in the next part of the Fall schedule is:  ABC’s Preschool Storytime.  In this class each week we will explore a different theme using rhymes, songs, stories plus a take-home craft. Parents will also learn new techniques to incorporate into story time at home to help promote early literacy skills.


Story times support & develop early literacy through singing, talking, reading, and playing! In addition to running the best story time around - Maria also runs an Etsy Shop where she sells quality handmade felt kits by artisan women in Guatemala. This charitable component is the perfect tie back to early literacy and each purchase helps artisans build a brighter future for themselves and their families.




Do you have kids? If so how many & age? 

No littles of my own...However, I am a proud aunty to 13 littles & one on the way early next year! I do however have 3 adorable puppies who have my heart.   A beagle named Rascal, a Great Dane named Hugo & a Jug named Bella.

What's one thing people probably don't know about you? I am an incredibly shy person. I am definitely an introvert who is working on becoming more extravert. I don’t know how I got into this business being this shy...haha!





What is your favourite thing to do for yourself? I love going for massages & manicures. I crave me time & take the time to be completely offline & enjoy a cup of coffee or tea.

What is your favourite date night activity? Anything with food! Whether its cooking a new dish, going out for dinner & or having friends and family over for dinner. I am so lucky that my boyfriend is an incredible chef & can make anything. I used to think cooking was a chore but he always makes it fun! What's one thing you couldn't live without? If we are talking about things then the answer is coffee! You do not want to come near me without my first cup of caffeine whether it be tea or coffee. As for a cliché answer I would say my family, significant other & friends. I would be lost without their love & support. My tribe has had my back & have been my biggest fans. I could not imagine embarking on this journey without them.  Who's your IG inspiration? 

I love following;  @thebirdspapaya @withlovechelss @cottonstem.

I love how funny & real they are. Plus they have a great aesthetics.

I also love @annawithlove her creativity is mind blowing!


What advice would you give your younger self?

Trust your gut & go knock on those doors. Opportunities are waiting!  Where is business located out of?

Tiny Tales is a mobile business servicing Oakville, Burlington & beyond! I also have an etsy shop; Tiny Tales Boutique & that’s where I sell my felt board stories. These are also know as flannel board stories that children can us to learn and/or identify the animals, sing songs or make their own pretend play felt stories. Felt stories  can be used for independent play, small group activities, storytime, circle time, and for speech therapy.

. How did you choose the name for your business?  Landing on Tiny Tales took soooo long. I wanted a name that would combine littles & stories but be catchy and short. After many brainstorm sessions with my sister Tiny Tales finally came to me late one night & I instantly fell in love with it. Where can people find your programming?

You can follow me on Instagram & Facebook! My handle is @tinytalesstorytime for all the details. I must admit I am new to Facebook so I am still learning & tend to favour Instagram. 

You can also subscribe to my website www.tiny-tales.ca & can find blog post as well as other resources on there.  My etsy shop can be found at https://www.etsy.com/ca/shop/TinyTalesBoutique. 


What advice can you give someone looking to start up their own business? 

Go for it & hustle! Don’t wait to be “ready” or “perfect” because nothing will ever be perfect & you’ll never be ready. Trust me when I tell you once you start everything will fall in to place. The struggle will be real but the rewards are so so worth it. 

What sets your business apart from others alike?

I study trends & combine years of experience to bring my programs to life. In my past life I have worked as a teacher & have over 10 + plus years of working in public libraries so this makes me comfortable in front of littles & their caregivers. I also have a passion for Early Literacy & enjoy bringing awareness of early literacy to my caregivers. 

What is the most challenging part of running your business? 

The lack of time! If only the days had more hours. I find it hard to keep up between running programs, updating social media, promoting, blogging, running my Etsy shop, taking meetings, planning, working at the library. Luckily I have help but it’s still a challenge!


What does a typical day look like for you?

Most mornings I am up early to shower, apply a quick make-up routine & brew my first cup of coffee. While I sip my cup of coffee I scan my inbox & go on Instagram. I do a quick run through of the day ahead program, take out the dogs & then I’m on my way to whatever location I am at!

After a program I pack up & head home to shower & change and most afternoons I head to the library to do a shift. After that I come home, unpack, repack & relax with a cup of tea or a glass of wine. 


Favourite song: Dancing In The Moonlight – King Harvest. I use this song during bubble time at my storytimes. 

Dream Vacation: I would love to visit The Maldavies 

Favourite Book: Too many to list. Michelle Obama’s Becoming is one of my top 5 books. 

Dream Job: I’m doing it!

Favourite Podcast: I’m more of an audiobook girl. I always have 2 or 3 on the go but currently I am revisiting the Harry Potter series. 

Dream Car: Audi R8

Favourite Smell: Fall! Nothing like the crisp smell of Fall. 

Dream meal: Homemade lasagna 

Favourite item of clothing: Leggings, a cozy sweater & some boots. The perfect Fall outfit!



@Camara.Crew Stamp of Approval: We first met Maria when we attended an event at Duran Place for Kids. She set up the perfect activity fit for any Prince or Princess which went perfectly with the events theme. Lily had so much fun exploring and creating. I knew after this event, that I had to reach out to Maria about collaborating to learn more about her business.


Maria came to my home and created a magical story time adventure for my children and their friends. From start to finish, the little's were all engaged. Shes started off with some songs and story time accompanied by musical instruments, felt puppets and other interactive activities for the children. Then proceeded to have the children engage in a variety of Fall Themed Sensory Play. Then we finished it off with some more stories and rhymes to end our time together. I loved how she transitioned from one activity to the next which helped keep the children engaged the entire time. There was something for everyone and I think all of their senses with tingling with all the activities we engaged in.


What I love about Tiny Tales is that you can invite Maria into your home with some of your mama friends and babes or you can attend one of her local classes hosted throughout Burlington, Oakville and Hamilton. There are so many choices for you to integrate this programming into your child's life. If you are interested in registering I highly recommend contacting Maria today! Your children will thank you in smiles, hugs and giggles!



21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page