top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - Two Gems Design Co.

Today we are going to get to know Janice, the mama of 2 and maker from Hamilton, Ontario. Janice is the owner of Two Gems Design Co. Janice makes handmade hair bows and ties. It is her passion for crafting that has led her to start this business. What Janice loves most is trying out new styles, patterns and colours.



Do you have kids? If so how many & age? 

I have two little girls, 4 years old and 22 months. 


What's one thing people probably don't know about you? I have a phobia of deer 


Are you a stay at home mom? No, I have a full time job teaching Art. Making bows is my side passion.


What is your favourite thing to do for yourself? I love to go shopping! And getting my nails done.




What is your favourite date night activity?

Playing a round of golf and going for dinner and drinks. 


What's one thing you couldn't live without? 

Tough one.... mascara. 


Who's your IG inspiration?

There are so many people on IG who are inspiring and who have helped my in my small shop journey. It’s hard to narrow it down to just a few. 


What advice would you give your younger self?

Trust your instincts and focus on one thing at a time. 


How did you choose the name for your business? 

I wanted to incorporate my two little ladies in some way. I came up with a few different ideas and played around with them until I got it. 


How do you balance having kids & running a business? 

You mean kids, a business, and a full time job?! I work late at night to get my work done!! Everything gets done in the end. 


Where can people find your products? I have an Etsy shop and I also connect with people through Instagram to order. 


What advice can you give someone looking to start up their own business?  Go for it! It’s fun and rewarding all at the same time! 


What sets your business apart from others alike?

I like to offer flexibility to my customers with their bows. If they’d like to mix and match styles/colours, that’s cool with me! 


What is the most challenging part of running your business? 

Time!! I never have enough time (I think we can all relate!) Social media is also a big aspect that really requires a lot of attention. 

 

Coffee or tea? Coffee. Always. 

Neutral or colourful? Colourful

Morning or night? Night 

Wine or beer? Both.... depending on type!

Starbucks or tims? I love McDonald’s coffee! But Tim’s and Starbucks are great too!

Online shopping or in store? Both!!! Mostly online though. 

Instagram or Facebook? Instagram.

Text or phone call? Text. I’m notorious for having my phone on silent and not answering.


Instagram: @twogemsdesignco


@Camara.Crew Stamp of Approval:

I can't begin to say enough great things about Two Gems Design Co. I love the diversity of their products, I guarantee you will find something that you love! Personally my favourite is the customized bow, I think every little girl needs on of these in their life. How chic is the one pictured above!


Lily hates when I do her hair. She isn't into bows and letting me do anything fancy to her hair. So anything that is lighweight and I can sneak into her hair here and now is amazing. Let me tell you, she wore her Two Gems Design Co. bow all day and never even knew it was there! So if you have a kiddo like mine, Two Gems Design Co. is where you need to go!


USE CODE CAMARACREW FOR 25% OFF YOUR ORDER!!


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page