top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - Woodchuk Design Co.


Meet Amanda the mama of 3 beautiful children and maker behind Woodchuk Design Co. Amanda makes growth rulers, charcuterie boards, variety of signs, and has recently started doing something called reverse canvas where she uses a wood frame and a canvas backing. Make sure to read to the end to see what I got from Amanda.



Do you have kids? If so how many & age?

I do! I have three kids. Ava is 5, Owen is 3, and Callum is 1.


Are you a stay at home mom?

Yes.


What is your favourite thing to do for yourself?

Have a nice long shower, by myself, without any kids opening and closing the shower door. Mom life!


What's one thing you couldn't live without?

My calendar. Every appointment, every birthday, every extra curricular activity, every weekend plan is in my calendar. Without it I would be lost


What's your favourite date night activity?

Going to the movies


Provide a description of your business

Woodchuk is a wood sign business that I started while on mat leave with my middle child. I am always crafting and DIY'ing and made a sign for a friend and it took off from there.


Where is business located out of? & what's your favourite thing to do in your hometown?

Woodchuk is based out of my garage in Kilworth, ON. My favorite thing to do in my hometown is go to the weekend Farmer's Market


How did you choose the name for your business?

My husband actually came up with it!


How do you balance having kids & running a business?

Its tricky for sure. We are a very busy family, and the kids always have something on the go. I try to balance it by working on orders once they have gone to bed or during nap time.


What has been most challenging about starting your own business?

Figuring out pricing. How to charge for the labour that goes into each piece while also staying competitive with other businesses.


What have you found most supportive when starting your business?

My kids. My daughter will say "mommy that is beautiful" or "mommy you did such a good job". She makes me want to work hard and to keep at it even when I feel like throwing in the towel.



Coffee or tea? Coffee

Neutral or colourful? Neutral

Morning or night? Afternoon lol

Wine or beer? Beer (cider)

Starbucks or tims? Both!

Online shopping or in store? online

Instagram or Facebook? Instagram

Text or phone call? text





@Camara.Crew Stamp of Approval

I first came across @woodchukdesignco when I was searching on Instagram for cute décor for Mason's nursery. I was immediately drawn to this alphabet sign after scrolling through Amanda's feed! Now I can't decide if I am going to use this in Mason's nursery or Lily's new big girl room when we move. The craftsmanship of the sign is phenomenal. I love that it is not an all wood sign but instead part canvas! Makes it unique from other signs I have seen and purchased in the past. I also like how modern and minimalistic the sign is. But this sign is not only cute it is educational!! Since receiving it Lily and I have sat together countless times reciting the alphabet and learning the letters. I love small shop finds that serve a dual purpose.


Stay tuned to see who's room I decide to hang this beautiful piece in. I will be featuring both Lily and Mason's room on my blog in the upcoming month, Let me know who's room you think I should hang it in??

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page