top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Modern Calligraphy with @tayneandashley


One of my goals this year was to try and do more things for me! I truly believe that self-care is so important & in order for me to be a good mom I need to take care of myself to. Taking care of myself is probably one of the hardest things to do because my mindset is to constantly put others ahead of me.


However, when Ashley from @tayneandashley messaged me about attending her Modern Calligraphy workshop I knew it was a sign for me to stop & make me a priority. I was so excited to try something new, chat with some adults & have some me time. I also found that because I had something to look forward to all week it helped keep me in good spirits throughout the week. I never really thought of it that way, that but scheduling some me time it gave me something to look forward to throughout the week. It gave me that extra push I needed knowing that I was going to have some time for me. It also gave me that kick in the butt I needed to get up in the morning, do my hair and put on a cute outfit! Don't get me wrong I love me some leggings and mom bun but I was feeling in a rut where I just didn't want to do my hair, makeup or wear anything other than leggings or track pants. It felt so good to go through my clothes, pick out something cute and to wear a purse! Yes ladies, this mama went out with a purse. I don't even remember the last time I used my purse, and my purse is a beauty! It is my favourite bag and it's been killing me that it sits in the closet and gets no attention.

Before arriving at the workshop which was held at the Medium Art Studio in Burlington, I grabbed me a coffee & Ashley a tea! This is something else I was excited about, not having to share my ice coffee with anyone! Lily or Chris always want to sneak some sips of my ice coffee and boy did it feel good to enjoy it in peace for once. When I arrived at the workshop the setup was beautiful, which I knew it would be because Ashley's attention to detail is divine! They even included these cute bags on each chair designed & made by Ashley of course so that we had something to take all our goodies home in. We had all the supplies that we needed to complete the workshop as well as a few special goodies to help us be successful (but I am not going to give it all away in case you decide to take a workshop!). We jumped right into the class and let me tell you it went by way to quickly! I was having so much fun focusing on the calligraphy, chatting with Ashley and the other woman at the event it just flew by. Ashley was an amazing teacher and did a great job at focusing on the varying abilities and needs of the class. Taking a look at my before and after page I definitely feel that I learned a thing or two from the class. What else I love is now I have all the tools to be able to continue to work on my calligraphy at home.


If you're looking for a gift or a date activity this is the perfect idea! Push someone outside of their comfort zone & try something new. Or, push yourself out of your comfort zone and treat yourself! It's amazing how good that can make you feel.


If you want to learn more about @tayneandashley click here to read my meet the maker feature! This talented couple is someone you will want to have on your contact list!


If you're interested in taking a workshop check out Tayne & Ashleys social media pages for more information. Upcoming workshops will be posted at the beginning of March.


Instagram: @tayneandashley


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page