top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Monochrome Magic! Mason's Nursery


I honestly cannot believe how long it has taken me to write this post as it is probably the post that I have been most excited to share with you all. When I found out we were having a boy I was so excited to design Mason's nursery. I had no idea what direction I wanted to go in as there were so many different possibilities. I think Chris would have preferred for me to design the nursery around the colour Blue but he knew better than to mess with my vision (happy wife happy life!). After staying up late way to many nights on Pinterest I decided I was going to do a Monochrome Theme.


When I was pregnant with Mason I had a really hard time dealing with not feeling prepared for his arrival. We were in the process of listing our house and getting ready to move at the end of my pregnancy so we never set up a nursery for Mason at the old house. Mason slept in mine and Chris' room in a bassinet until we moved into our new house. I hated feeling unorganized and like he didn't have a special room to come home too. I was so excited to move and be able to get his nursery put together for him! I had my cousins come over and paint Mason's room (they also painted Lily's room) the day that we were moving in! I was so excited to get that black paint up on the wall. I did not think I was going to be able to convince Chris to let me paint one of the walls black but thankfully I was able to as it is my favourite part of his room.

I had so much fun picking out the decor for his room as well. The zebra head on the wall I purchased that months before Mason was even born! I knew that I would be able to find some special spot to put it. The "brave" sign I purchased from Bouclair. It was a light wash wood, but then we decided to paint it black so it went with the decor better. The Mason double mountain was made by the talented @bebe.tot and is the perfect piece for on his dresser! Two other items I was really excited about was the lamp and ceiling light. I looked everywhere for the perfect monochrome lighting for Mason's room and had a really hard time. When I found these two pieces at Bouclair I was so excited! The one thing I really love about his lamp is that it runs off of batteries so there are no cords! Another piece that I really love in his room is his monogrammed wall hook by @woodsyworlddecor it is perfect for hanging up his clothes and his @babyluandcompany adventure backpack. I can't wait to see him use it when he is old enough to reach it.


Mason's furniture is all from Best Buy. I have linked both his dresser, rocking chair and crib below. I had found a similar crib on another website and it cost double the amount of this one! I was able to get both the dresser and crib for the same price as the crib from another store. Best Buy always has great sales, especially during their Baby Days so if you are looking for baby furniture I would definitely watch Best Buy. It is hard because you aren't able to view the product before purchasing but I will say I am very happy with the quality of all 3 of these pieces.


We have already made so many memories in Mason's room. There have been lots of nights where I spent hours in their rocking him to sleep and feeding him. This is the same rocking chair that I used to rock Lily to sleep and sing the same lullabys that I do to Mason now. A lot of the time I end up sitting in this chair, staring at Mason in awe of him and recalling all the amazing memories I have had with his sister in this same chair. There also has been lots of love and laughter between him and his sister in his room. Many photo shoots as the lighting in his room is AMAZING so that is where I take all of his monthly photos. But what I love most is sneaking into his room in the middle of the night and watching him sleep - there is nothing sweeter than these moments!

(the above photos were taken by @meganbutchardphotography)


26 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page