top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Pikler Triangle & Ramp Activities - Infants

When I am looking for new toys for our playroom I am always looking for items that will grow with our children and challenge them at their current and future developmental stage. Especially if I am going to invest in an item that is higher priced I want to make sure that we are going to get lots of use of it.


That is why we were so excited to add a Large Pikler Triangle and Ramp from Two Sticks Canada to our playroom.


Before it even arrived it got my wheels turning on how I could use these two items to help encourage Violet's development and challenge her. I wanted to make sure that it was safe for her and that she got to have lots of fun alongside her brother and sister.


Here is why I would recommend getting a large pikler triangle;


  1. It will grow with your child. It may too challenging at the infant stage however, as they grow they will be challenged more by it and still get lots of use out of it once they are toddlers and into their school-age years

  2. If you have multiple children, the large pikler triangle allows for ample space for all children to play and have fun without getting hurt

Here are some of our favourite ways we've used the Pikler Triangle and Ramp for Violet;


Use the ramp as a slide

Violet is getting more confident on the ramp and loving going down on the slide whether it is with her sister or by herself. I love that I can adjust the ramp to various heights, the more comfortable and older she gets the higher I can move the ramp. There is also lots of space on the slide that Lily can sit with her sister and help her go up and down it.


We've also used the flat side of the ramp to help encourage Violet to climb, roll balls up and down and to drive cars along. There are so many opportunities for play and exploration.


I also like the rock side of this ramp for Violet's age group. It provides a spot for infants to grab onto as they are learning to crawl and move around in new ways. It also is fun for rolling items down it as they bounce and move from side to side when they hit the rocks. If you were trying to get your infant to crawl you could place one of their favourite toys up the ramp and encourage them to climb up to it.


I've also taped various items (Easter eggs, cars, balls etc.) to the ramp and let Violet explore and attempt to release them from the tape. It is a great sensory and exploration activity.


Encourage infant to stand and climb


While Violet is far from ready to climb up the Pikler Triangle is does provide a sturdy place for her to stand up and get more confident walking around and standing without holding onto anything.


I don't have to worry about her knocking over the structure while she is challenging herself and exploring. As she gets more confident I will be able to start helping her learn how to climb and explore the Pikler Triangle even more. But for now, I will leave the dare devil techniques to her older siblings!





Hang various items inside the Pikler Triangle

This is probably one of Violet's favourite activities. She loves crawling underneath the triangle and exploring so I thought she would have fun if I hung various items underneath for her to explore.


I've taped Easter Eggs and balls to the wooden dowels and hung them. It's a great way to get infants standing up, practicing grasping various objects and their problem solving skills. Violet's even starting to place them back on the tape after she has pulled them all off.


I've also hung colourful silks underneath the triangle. She loves moving them around and we often incorporate musical instruments when we pull out the silks. It can be a very calming experience all the pretty colours.


I am excited to see how else we can use the Pikler Triangle as Violet grows up. It's fun watching her keep a close eye on her older siblings and attempt to do what they are doing. But for now, I will enjoy the more grounded activities with Violet while her siblings take on the more daring activities.


Check back next week to see how we've used the Pikler Triangle and Ramp for Toddler and School-Age Children.



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page