top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Round 3 - OB vs. Midwife



Well this isn't my first rodeo and you would think that by now my plan for my pregnancy and birth would be nailed down. But, I thought you know what I think it is time to change things up a bit and try a new experience, especially since this will be my last rodeo.


When I met with my family doctor they asked if I wanted to use my OB from my last 2 pregnancies or if I wanted to use a midwife. To be honest, I knew nothing about midwifery care. I knew some basic things from what I have seen others post about but not truly what they did. To be honest one of the biggest things that caught my attention was that they do home visits for postnatal care. The thought of taking 2 toddlers and a newborn to the doctors gave me anxiety instantly. But I wanted to learn more, so my family doctor set up an appointment for me. With being so early in my pregnancy I knew if for some reason after meeting the midwife that it wasn't for me, that I could still easily go back to my OB.


Did I have a bad experience with my OB? That seems to be the most asked question when people ask me why I chose to switch to a midwife this time. My answer to that is absolutely not! I had a great experience with my OB throughout both of my pregnancies. Dr. Sibley made me feel like a million bucks every time I stepped foot into her office. She took her time with me, reassured me, answered all of my questions and was amazing! Even checked in on me after both of my births in hospital. However, what disappointed me both times was that she did not deliver either of my babies. At first, I didn't think this really bothered me. However, I had developed such a great relationship with her throughout both of my pregnancies and then when it came to the most important and special part of the whole experience, I had no idea who it was at the end of the bed. It was a resident both times, and for Mason the OB didn't even make it to the room on time to supervise. Was I fine? Yes. But that is not the birth experience I had pictured or really wanted. I wanted to know the person at the end of the bed. To be able to fully trust them and feel comfortable. That is largely why I wanted to look more into midwifery care.


My bad experiences didn't stem from my OB it was more with my care following my birth in the hospital. Having to stay in the hospital with both Lily and Mason for almost a week each time because my voice wasn't being heard was extremely frustrating. With Lily, I didn't know any better, but with Mason I spoke up multiple times and there was no reason that we needed to be in the hospital longer than 24 hours. When I told my midwife about this at my first appointment she was very shocked. I liked that I could be discharged in their care from the hospital following my birth in under 24 hours because they will follow up with you at home and provide the continuity of care. Knowing that I can come home unless there is a serious medical issue that we need to be in the hospital for was such a huge relief for me. As the thought of staying in the hospital is very anxiety provoking for me.


I have to say after my first visit with Jessica Jones from Community Midwives of Hamilton I was extremely excited about this experience. At times it felt like I was talking to a friend vs. a health care professional. The conversation and experience felt more personal. One of the main reasons I chose to go with Community Midwives of Hamilton is because I knew that they had privileges to deliver at McMaster. This was something that was very important to me so I made sure to do my research because not all midwives have privileges at all hospitals. I also liked the continuity of care. I wasn't starting at my family doctor, then half way through my pregnancy being switched to an OB. From the beginning of my pregnancy right through to the end and for the first bit of my postnatal care, I would be in the care of my midwife. I liked that it was one person, or in some situations 2 midwives that I would see. I've had 3 visits to my midwife, 2 with my main midwife and one with my backup midwife and each time was amazing. It was quick, thorough and I left feeling amazing. I felt that I had more time with my midwife then I did with my OB during my appointments and that my voice was heard more. Things were explained to me much differently and I learned new things that I didn't before.


For example, during my first visit with my midwife she asked me all those questions about my previous health, mine and Chris' family health history etc. You know the 50000000 questions that you feel like you don't know half of the answers to or you've answered so many times you should write a book. Well, during those questions I mentioned my family's health history, the same ones that I mentioned during both of my other pregnancies. Immediately my midwife asked if I ever spoke with a genetic counselor. Which I hadn't because that service was never offered to me. Basically what happened was my midwife wrote a letter to the genetic counselor outlining the illnesses that were of concern from my family's history. They read this letter and determine whether or not a consultation meeting is appropriate. Well, after sending off the letter the genetic counselor quickly responded that I should go see a doctor at McMaster who specializes in a disease my brother was diagnosed with in childhood, Mitochondrial disease. I was a little shocked and worried because they were sending me right to the big gun at the hospital. Immediately I thought my children were at risk of developing this disease, that maybe I should have had them tested earlier, why didn't I ask these questions before and the thoughts go on. So of course, my mom accompanied me to this appointment as she knew my brothers health history best and was familiar with this doctor as he was my brothers. Well turns out, after reviewing my brother's case again and looking at his file (with his permission of course) it was determined that all these years my brother never actually had Mitochondrial Disease. Because my brother was tested when the tests for Mitochondrial disease first were developed what they thought were genetic markers for the disease then now, would not be considered markers for the disease because their testing is much more advanced. Immediately I was relieved that it was of no concern for me or my children. But even better, my brother actually didn't have an illness he thought he had all these years. And if I never went to that appointment, we never would have found out this information. My mom was so excited to tell my brother for once in his life that he didn't have an illness, she was the bearer of good health news !

Another thing that I found very reassuring is that midwives provide 24 hour care. No matter what time it may be you can always call and they will respond within 10 minutes. That was something I struggled with during both of my previous pregnancies. Whenever I was unsure or worried about something I either had to wait until my next appointment with my OB or spend hours on the phone trying to get through to talk to someone. Not the case at all with midwives. I had a bit of a scare one evening early on in my pregnancy. I had gone to the bathroom and seen blood. I immediately panicked after going through a miscarriage between Lily and Mason my heart sunk. Instead of panicking too much, I grabbed my phone and called my midwife. In less then 10 minutes she called me back and I felt like the world was lifted off my shoulders. She reassured me, asked me some important questions and thankfully there was no more blood after that one incident. It was so reassuring to know that I could get a hold of her, or another midwife so easily.


In my opinion, there is no right or wrong, or better choice between being in the care of a midwife or an OB. Ultimately, you have to do your research and figure out what is best for you and your family. There are pros and cons to each experience. Would I go back and change anything with my pregnancies with Lily and Mason, absolutely not. I just felt like I needed a change this time around and I am very glad that I chose to go this route. I am excited for the rest of my journey with our midwifery team and to share it with all of you.


If you want to chat more about my experiences between and OB and a midwife please don't hesitate to reach out either on social media or through email. I am always happy to chat through experiences with you!




35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page