top of page
  • Cassie Camara

How to support parents during a pandemic


Well this isn't a blog I thought I would ever write. After having 3 kids I never thought I would be stressing out because of a pandemic and that it would take away so much from having a newborn baby.


Thankfully, I didn't have to experience much of my pregnancy during COVID-19. Violet was born the day before the restrictions about social distancing went into place. So we were able have our immediate family at the hospital but that evening is when the rules and restrictions changed. I am very grateful that we didn't have to experience giving birth during the restrictions of COVID-19. I am also grateful this wasn't our 1st baby because I feel like we didn't miss out on things like new parents are right now like baby showers. But that isn't to say that it hasn't been hard.


The hardest parts have been;

  • not seeing our friends and family. being a parent can be lonely, but this is making the loneliness feel very extreme

  • not being able to share Violet with our friends and family

  • feeling isolated because we cannot leave the house and explore

  • no additional help from family with our other children

  • we are not working so financially it is harder

Those have been the hardest parts for us. But there are also some good things;

  • Chris isn't working so he is home 24/7 to help with the kids

  • theres not urgency to go anywhere or see anyone so we can enjoy al the snuggles and quiet time together

  • additional family time

  • I believe I healed quicker from my C-section because I rested more and had more help from my husband

Since this has all happened, I have had some people ask me how to help other moms or if there's anything they can do to help me during this uncharted time. So I felt it would be helpful to share some tips that I feel would be helpful.

  1. Don't forget about them! Just because you can't see them physically doesn't mean that they aren't there. Text messages, video calls, porch visits they mean more than ever right now. It can be lonely talking to a newborn all day! Checking in and asking parents how they are doing (not just the baby) will definitely make them feel loved. If you are comfortable porch visits are always a great idea - even if it's through a door or window seeing someone in person can make the world of difference.

  2. Drop off meals or treats If you are looking for an idea of something to drop off my advice would be a home cooked meal, some self-care products (nails polish, lotion, candles etc.) or even diapers. Times are tough and everyone is struggling financially I think the practical stuff is what is most helpful right now. It could also save the parents a trip to the store. Offer to pickup some groceries for them as well and drop them off. If you are uncomfortable with that you can also gift a gift card for Uber Eats, a grocery store or baby store such as Toys R Us for them to purchase whatever necessities they need.

  3. Don't forget about the other children! We had a few family members drop off surprises for Lily and Mason and that was a huge help. Especially if it is an activity that could help keep them busy for awhile. The weather is getting nice so it can be as simple as bubbles or chalk, children will be surprised and excited no matter what it is. And I guarantee the parents will be forever grateful

I think though what is most important is checking in on the parents. The loneliness is real during this craziness and knowing that there are people out there cheering you on and waiting anxiously to see you is the best feeling.


Let me know in the comments below what's helped you get through the pandemic!

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page