top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Mason's Birth Story


Every time I try to start writing this blog I either get emotional, interrupted by my two year old or Mason needs to be fed. But even with all of the interruptions and new things that are going on in our life I couldn't love being a family of four more. I'm so excited to share with you guys Mason birth story because as I'm sure many of you moms know it's probably one of our favorite topics to talk about.


My due date was quickly approaching (September 24th) and I was going for weekly visits to my OB. She kept reassuring me that she thought I was going to go into labor anytime soon. I would leave her office very hopeful that my water was about to break any minute and we were going to be heading to the hospital. On Friday September 21st I woke up around 5 a.m. and I wasn't feeling quite myself. I just summed it up as another part of pregnancy. So I headed back to bed and then again at 6 a.m. I woke up with what felt like period cramps. I couldn't go back to sleep so I laid back down in bed and then quickly realized that the cramps were spaced apart and that they were gradually getting worse. Around 8:30 I called the hospital to let them know that we would be on our way as my contractions were about 2 to 3 minutes apart and we're intensifying by what felt like the minute. I tried to stay home as long as I felt I could because I wanted to soak up every minute with Lily before Mason arrived. I think leaving her to go to the hospital was probably one of the hardest parts of that day because I knew it wouldn't just be her and I anymore. The fear set in that I wouldn't be able to take care of my little girl like I had been and be able to take care of our new baby boy.

Chris and I hopped into the car after he finally packed his hospital bag. In true Chris fashion he waited until we literally needed to be walking out the door to pack his bag. And of course as soon as I stepped into the car my contractions seem to get worse. We arrived at the hospital around 9:30 a.m. and my water still had not broke at this time. They got us checked in and the OB on call came and checked and told me that I was 4 centimeters dilated and that we would be having Mason today. So I got changed into those horrendous hospital gowns and off we went to our labor and delivery room.

Other than the intensifying contractions I felt pretty good. My nurse Lonnie was absolutely amazing and I am so grateful that for both Lily and Mason I had amazing nurses in the room with us for their delivery. The best moment was when the nurse asked me the million-dollar question if I wanted an epidural and I 100% did. So off my nurse went to find the anesthesiologist and around 11-1130 I got my epidural. For both of my kids I think getting my epidural was the best decision I made because it allowed me to get some rest and relax a little bit before it was time to push. For those of you who've never had one before but are thinking about it I do have to tell you that it's not as bad as what you think at least that was my experience. I was really nervous about getting the epidural with Lily because I had heard horror stories from other moms but was pleasantly surprised that it didn't hurt. In my opinion it was just very uncomfortable. With Mason I had a little bit of a different experience where I needed to be poked 3 different times which was frustrating but again not awfully painful. The worst part is trying to breathe through your contractions and trying to hold still so the anesthesiologist can get the right spot. But once it's in and you feel the relief it is so worth it. With that being said I am also totally for a natural labor without any type of pain medication and give all the moms out there a lot of credit for being able to do it the natural way.

Around 12:30 the team came back in to check to see how far along I was. They told me that I was fully dilated. I was extremely shocked because I didn't feel like I was. Because I didn't feel like I was ready to push they told me that we could wait it out a little bit until I was ready so that my body would do the work for me instead of me having to do more of the work. I got a little bit more rest and I sent Chris to go get some lunch so that he was energized to help me get through the labor. I was sure that I was going to be pushing for a while like I did with Lily. Thankfully my water broke on its own around 1 and by the time Chris made it back with his food and had time to eat I was ready to push.

My nurse came back into the room to help and I honestly thought that her and Chris were joking when they said that after one push they could see Mason's head. After 6 minutes Mason was born. The OB came to my room and said "wow you're already done!". I was in complete shock that it took me probably a total of maybe 10 pushes to get Mason out.


And then that beautiful moment when you get to hold and meet your baby for the first time All these emotions came flooding over me as I thought back to the day that I got to meet Lily for the first time and now I was holding my beautiful baby boy in my arms. I looked over at Chris and saw tears in his eyes and how much love his heart was already filled with. I watched Chris cut Mason's umbilical cord and everything else in the room became a blur as the doctors tended to me. All I could do was stare at my beautiful baby in amazement.

The amazing team at Mac gave Chris and I some time alone with our little man and Chris then went to go get Lily so she could meet her little brother. And again cue the tears. Lily was very apprehensive to come into the room I think it was all very overwhelming for her as she was super quiet which she never is. Lily climbed up onto the bed with me and met her brother for the first time and it's a moment that I will never forget. My two beautiful babies sitting with me. That was the moment that I knew that my heart could only grow bigger and hold so much more love than I knew ever existed. There is nothing like watching your child meet their sibling for the first time. And I think one of the most amazing parts of coming home from the hospital is getting to see Lily and Mason together. After we had some time with Lily each of our family members came back into the labor and delivery room for a few minutes to meet Mason. Everybody was so excited to meet him and to spoil him with all their love.

We then headed over to our room on the ward. Once we got settled into our room our family joined us there to again celebrate together. Lily was the first one to enter the room and again cue the tears because she was so excited to show mommy, daddy and Mason the teddy bear that she picked out for him. While everybody gave Mason some snuggles I got lots of snuggles from Lily and gave her a big sister gift from Mason. She was so excited to get her Baby Alive doll and all the goodies that came with it. She wanted to feed her baby while mommy fed Mason and I could already tell that she was going to be my little helper as soon as he got home.

After everyone had a nice visit our family headed home and Chris, Mason and I enjoyed some quiet time together. We were disappointed that we couldn't go home the same day but knew we had to stay in the hospital because of the 24-hour blood work that Mason required. My anxiety was a little bit High because of having to stay in the hospital for a week with Lily. I didn't want to have the same experience with Mason. I was very clear with my nursing team that yes we were trying breastfeeding however if my Supply was low like with Lily and if Mason continued to lose weight I was wanting to supplement with formula so that we could go home and continue to figure out the plan. Mason did lose weight the following day and we unfortunately had to stay in the hospital another night. Chris woke up on Saturday with a nasty cold and was not feeling well so he headed home because he was worried about getting Mason and I sick and us having to stay even longer because of that.


Thankfully on Sunday morning we were told that we could go home. Mason had lost weight again but because I was willing to supplement with formula and was going to take him to see my family doctor the following day the team was willing to let us go home. It was the biggest relief to know that we were going home, we were going to sleep in our own bed and all be together as a family of 4!

Okay moms! Its your turn now. Tell me about your child(rens) birth stories.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page