top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - Harlow Baby Boutique



This is by far one of my favourite small shops and businesses that I have loved supporting for 4 years. I am a dedicated and returning client for a lot of reasons (which you will have to read below!) But to say I am excited to share Kylie's business Harlow Baby Boutique with you is an understatement. Kylie creates custom blankets and baby accessories that your kiddos are going to find eternal comfort in!


Do you have kids? If so how many & age? Im the proud but possibly insane mommy to 7 kiddos ages 15, 13, 12, 9, 6,4,2 (two girls and 5 boys). We are a beautifully blended family of biological children, adopted children and foster children.


What's one thing people probably don't know about you? I HATE scary movies but my kids & hubby love them but i refuse to watch them.


Are you a stay at home mom? yes and no. Im a work from home mama who juggles life with 7 kids, my thriving and growing business and I help on my parents chicken farm too. Honestly who needs sleep right? LOL


What is your favourite thing to do for yourself? Driving alone listening to loud music - (mama loves her some hip hop) with a Starbucks latte and then go get my nails done. I try to do this once a month.


What is your favourite date night activity? Going to the Keg with my husband Chris and then shopping afterwards.


What's one thing you couldn't live without? My family and my nails (theyre crazy long & I love them)


Who's your IG inspiration? Rachel Hollis - this year Ive spent really trying to grow as a person and as a business woman and following her & reading her books has really helped me grow and accept myself more & that I got this.


What advice would you give your younger self - Travel more, love harder and life is short so cherish every moment.


Where is business located out of? I run everything out of my home studio in my small hometown Sunderland ONT - where I was raised and where I currently live.


How did you choose the name for your business? Harlow Baby Boutique is after my daughter who is my only biological daughter.


How do you balance having kids & running a business? There isnt really a balance but  I keep a tight schedule and then during the day I work until the baby age 2 decides he will no longer play in the sewing studio with me and when he decides were done then we go play and then after hes in bed at around 7pm I go to the sewing studio and work usually until 2am on orders.


Where can people find your products? www.HarlowBaby.ca


What advice can you give someone looking to start up their own business? Do your research, find your niche and don't wait for it to be perfect before you launch your products. Above all believe in yourself and all the hard work will pay off.


What sets your business apart from others alike? I feel like what sets us apart is the whole experience. I try to be very personable with my customers as they mean the world to me without them I wouldn't have this amazing growing business, and I appreciate that they're spending

their hard earned money with my business. I try to create exactly what they envision and every item is made by me and only me from ordering the fabrics, to designing the embroidery files to sewing the fabrics together and then packaging the blankets with a hand written thank you note and running the orders to the post office. I try to make everyone who shops with me feel special.


What is the most challenging part of running your business? Social media and Ads Ive read all the books and listened to all the podcasts but I feel like I could improve so much on it- its a work in progress.


What does a typical day look like for you?  When its a school day - Around 6:30 am Wake up and get the 6 school aged kids ready for school, the baby gets up around 7:30 am and he eats then he plays until around 9 and while he plays I check emails, print orders and social media while he plays

(every other day I'm in the barn on my parents chicken farm working 7 am until noon gathering eggs), at 9am we go down to the sewing studio with a cinnamon tea and work for about 2-3 hours (if baby boy allows me too some days hes not to thrilled to play while I sew), then we do lunch baby boy usually tosses half it to the puppy and then he plays in the living room for about an hour and I try to do some workhouse at 330 the kids arrive home from school where we do snacks and likely the kids fight then off to sports most nights. 7/730 pm  my little one goes to bed and I do a quick tidy of the kitchen and living room, get the big kids settled with a movie then head to the sewing studio downstairs until usually 2am to print orders, cut orders, social media and sew sew sew to fill orders.


Favourite song: TuPac California Love

Dream Vacation: Bura Bura and stay in a villa above the water

Favourite Book: Girl Stop Apologizing Rachel Hollis

Dream Job: I got it

Favourite Podcast: Crickets to Cha-Chings by Lauren Keplinger

Dream Car: Cadillac Escalade and Im working on it- its on my goal list

Favourite Smell: The crisp air on our farm after it rains

Dream meal: Seafood linguine with Cesar salad with tomatoes in it

Favourite item of clothing: A cozy over sized sweater




To say that we love and are big supports of Harlow Baby Boutique is an understatement. I first came across Kylie's business when I attended a baby show in Mississauga. I remember visiting her booth with Lily like it was yesterday and eyeing up all of her stuff. I had left her booth initially with nothing, but it didn't take me long to wander back and make my 1st purchase. It was the Blue Jays blanket that you see pictured below with Lily that initially caught my eye. We are huge baseball and Blue Jays fans in this house and I never saw a Blue Jays Blanket before. I am so glad that I bought it because this blanket has been with Lily every day since I did. She gravitated towards it immediately and it almost instantly became her newest and most treasured comfort item. Lily to this day still refused to use any other blanket. After 3.5 years it is still in great condition and is so beyond loved by Lily.


Of course when I found out I was pregnant with Mason and Violet I knew there was no one else I would purchase a blanket from. I made my parents attend the baby show in Hamilton when I was pregnant with Mason because I was working and they helped pick out his favourite blanket pictured below. Mason has used this blanket since day 1 and again it is his favourite blanket and most treasured comfort item. I will never forget wrapping Violet up in hers when we got to our room in the hospital for the first time and I could feel the sense of comfort and warmth she felt from her new blanket. I truly believe Kylie's blankets are magical because they comfort they've given my children is truly a blessing!


We also have one of Kylie's lovey blankets and taggies as well! Violet loves her lovey and taggies! The taggies are the perfect toy for a newborn and growing infant! She loves chewing and holding onto all the different tags and they are so soft and cuddly! The lovey is the perfect size for Violet to snuggle on her own and she loves to rub it up against her face to feel the softness and comfort!


Typically I am not one to recommend gifting blankets to new moms or for new baby's. But I will tell you - if you are going to please purchase one from Harlow Baby Boutique and here's why;


- these blankets will last your children a lifetime! they wash and wear so well. My kids take them everywhere and they have been through hell and back and still look and feel amazing

- you can personalize the blankets if you know the baby's name and birth stat information which is always a great keepsake

- she has infinite amounts of options for colours and patterns for your blankets. I loved choosing all 3 of our kids blankets and didn't feel like I was ever settling. We even got one for our Nephew's baby shower gift and Kylie nailed the hockey theme I was hoping for!

- Kylie puts so much time, effort and passion into her work. I love knowing that I am supporting someone who truly is passionate about what they do and want to create something beautiful and timeless for you and your child.


I've really loved getting to know and work with Kylie! She is a great person inside and out and trust me when I say you will not regret checking out her page and making a purchase!


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page