top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Meet the Maker - Lorraine Lowry Designs


This has to be one of my favourite collaborations to date that I've worked on. Reason being because I feel like I've made a new friend throughout this process. Lorraine, is the mama and talented graphic and web designer behind Lorraine Lowry Designs. Lorraine's been working out of Hamilton Ontario since 2017 with local business owners and services to establish their online presence through sophisticated design.



Do you have kids? If so how many & age?

I am a first time mother to a beautiful, happy 6 month old baby boy. 

What's one thing people probably don't know about you?

I published a children’s story book in 2017 titled “Friends on the Spectrum” in order to promote inclusion and acceptance of individuals on the Autism spectrum.  A passion project designed as a resource to foster discussions between parents, educators and caregivers with children. 

Are you a stay at home mom?

I have been a stay at home mom on maternity leave since September of 2019. 




What is your favourite thing to do for yourself?

As a first time mother while managing a new small business on the side there is nothing I appreciate more than the opportunity to have a hot caffeinated beverage. Whether that's successfully brewing a fresh, hot tea from the comforts of home or taking a trip to my local Starbucks to get myself a sweet treat. 


What is your favourite date night activity?

These days we like to keep Date Night simple such as ordering in from one of our favourite restaurants in the area such as the Works or Merk Snack Bar. Once dinner arrives we snuggle into our big comfy sectional, dive into a delicious meal and we will watch our tv shows for the week or a movie we have been looking forward to. 


What's one thing you couldn't live without? 

My Macbook has been my organizer, planner and creative tool since my early teens. I have gone through a Pro and Air, and now the new MacBook. I am an avid Apple user and I would be lost without my creative tool of choice for both personal and professional uses. 


Who's your IG inspiration? 

It is difficult to single out just one because I tend to follow strong, business driven local female entrepreneurs. I admire their dedication, creativity and their solid sense of self. Examples that come to mind are @walshsasha, @meghans_moments and lola.lets.woman.up


What advice would you give your younger self

Be proud of your achievements and learn from your failures. You are going to have good and bad days, do not let the bad days make you forget about the good. Focus on what you want and do not take “no” for an answer. When you start a passion project do your research, and know who you are making commitments to and what their commitment is to you. 


Where is business located out of?

My business is located out of a variety of places such as my home or the Ark and Anchor Espresso Bar on King St West. 


How did you choose the name for your business? 

I struggled with choosing a business name between using my own personal name and a small creative title. I came up with Creative Mom Designs originally but after a branding audit I came to the realization that my business is just that, it is me and I am my brand. Now I introduce you to Lorraine Lowry Graphic and Web Design; Sophisticated Designs to Enhance Your Online Presence


How do you balance having kids & running a business? 

Currently my fiancé works from home and that means I am mom from 8:30-5 Monday to Friday, but once his work day ends if I have a project that requires my undivided creative attention he will take over parenting duties. Having a great support system from friends and family who understand the importance of my creative outlets and my business is key to carving out time to work. 


Where can people find your products?

Please check out my Facebook Business Page at https://www.facebook.com/lorrainelowrydesigns/

Follow @lorrainelowrydesigns on Instagram for all the latest news, updates and more.


What advice can you give someone looking to start up their own business? 

As someone who second guessed themselves from the very beginning my best advice is to trust yourself and what you do or offer. In this day and age there are a lot of creatives out there which can be intimidating but focus on community, instead of competition. Find a group of like minded individuals you can bounce ideas off of, ask for honest feedback and reach out for mentors. Do your research on business laws, organizations and resources available to support you  and above all else, stop questioning yourself and just do it!


What sets your business apart from others alike?

I focus on the “you” of your brand/business or service by diving into the clients history, personal stories and inspirations. I follow you alongside during your design journey and offer mentorship, guidance and suggestion where I see appropriate. I want to create stunning, engaging designs for clients but also give them the skills and confidence to maintain them. 


What is the most challenging part of running your business? 

Currently the most challenging part of running my business is a miniature human being who stands at 2.5 ft and weighs 23 pounds. He is the world’s cutest supervisor but also demands a lot of my time. But I carve out time and get the job done, even if that means creative surges at 3 in the morning with a hot cup of tea and binge watching Netflix for background noise. 


What does a typical day look like for you?

I spend my day balancing my time between mom and designer carving out work time during my sons down time. Even if I can only do 5 minutes at a time, I will complete the project on time and to the satisfaction of my clients. 


Favourite song: Nothings Gonna Stop Us Now - Starship (great song to dance in the car to) 

Dream Vacation: European Cruise or Tour 

Favourite Book: Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West

Dream Job: Full Time Freelance Designer 

Favourite Podcast: I don’t listen to Podcasts 

Dream Car: Vintage VW Beetle 

Favourite Smell: Campfire

Dream meal: Surf and Turf 

Favourite item of clothing: Black Leather Jacket 




Rebranding my website is something that I have wanted to do for a long time. Part of the reason I kept putting it off was 1) I had no idea where to even start and 2) I never found the right person to work with on this project. It is so important that you find someone who understands your vision, is patient but also fun to work with. When I met Lorraine I knew she had all of these qualities and I could trust her to help me rebrand.


We basically completely redid my website and created all new branding! We started with the logo and to be honest I had no idea what direction I wanted to go in. I had all these visions in my head but no idea how to combine them into something beautiful and realistic. Well with the help of Lorraine she made it fun and easy on me! She took my edits, which felt like so many because I kept changing my mind, with ease and was patient with me. She was determined to create something that I would fall in love with.


Then she helped me create my website using all my new branding! She's taken my website to a whole new level. It is something that I am so proud to call mine and to share with the world. Since rebranding it has inspired me to get writing again and is the push that I really needed.


I feel so lucky that I got to work with Lorraine on this project. She is kind, patient, talented, creative and so much more! I feel like I have gained a new friend through this process and I am so grateful for that. I highly recommend contacting Lorraine if you are interested in some website and graphic design work. Don't forget to use code CCREWBLOOG for 15% off a basic web package.





42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page