top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Our Wedding Day

Today we are going to celebrate our good friends wedding, and our daughter is even apart of their special day as their flower girl. As the excitement to go to their wedding grew it had me reminiscing about mine and Chris' wedding day and wanting to share our story with all of you.




From the day Chris and I started talking about our future and the possibility of us getting married we both knew we wanted to have a destination wedding. I was so excited when Chris was on board with this because it was always my dream to go away and get married. Growing up we never traveled as a family so I had never been to an all inclusive or anywhere tropical before. What better way to celebrate my first trip than for my wedding! Chris on the other hand, traveled a lot with his family growing up so he was more of the expert when it came to this topic. I let him pick where we should go and was so excited that he chose Jamaica. I knew the food would be delicious, a fun atmosphere and a beautiful place to get married.



We quickly started researching resorts and with the help of a family friend narrowed it down and chose the Grand Bahia Principe Resort in Runaway Bay. While there was so much excitement brewing nerves started to kick in. How were we going to choose who to invite? Were people going to be willing to travel to see us get married? How were we going to travel with an 11 month old baby? So much to think about but my nerves were quickly erased. Everything was pretty easy when it came to the planning. Chris was easy going, we made decisions quickly and together and there was minimal planning that had to be done on our end. We made our guest list and were so excited when everyone quickly replied HELL YA! To coming to party with us in Jamaica.


Our wedding was 3 days after we arrived at the resort. Everything was smooth sailing from the moment we arrived at the airport until the time we left the resort. The weather was beautiful, the food was delicious, we were surrounded by our friends and family we couldn't have asked for more! The resort was absolutely stunning. Every day leading up to our wedding I couldn't help but stare at the exact spot we would be wed. A beautiful isle with sand on each side and at the end this gorgeous gazebo over looking the water where Chris would be standing waiting for me. I couldn't wait.


The morning of our wedding we woke up, got breakfast with our friends and family and then hit the pool! It was the most relaxing morning ever. Then when it was time we went out separate ways to get ready. I was anxious but so excited to run, I mean walk down the isle to my forever! I got ready in my room with my mom, mother in-law, maid of honour, bridesmaid and of course my baby girl, Lily. Chris got ready with his team of guys in my brothers room. The video crew visited us both to catch us getting ready for the special moment and before we knew it, it was go time! I was driven to the location of the wedding in a golf cart and then the nerves kicked in. I looked down the isle and could see my soul mate and our beautiful daughter waiting for me. Thank god I had my dad there to hold me up because the moment I saw everyone I started bawling. We embarked on what felt like the longest but happiest walk of my life. The ceremony was full of laughter and love, exactly how I pictured it.

Afterwards we celebrated by the water with champagne with all our friends and family. Then we did all of our dances in the gazebo overlooking the water. First up, Chris and I. Chris hates dancing - actually asked if we could skip this part to which of course I said NO! So it was extra special because this was the first time we danced together. Lily joined us towards the end and my heart felt so complete. Then my dad and I danced. Cue the tears as my mom and brother took the floor to join us. Yes me and my brother cried like little babies when we swapped to dance together - a moment I will never forget. Afterwards Chris and his mom shared a special dance where we all joined in together at the end with Chris dad, brother and sister.

It was the most beautiful day I could have ever dreamed of! But what made it so amazing was that I knew I was marrying my soul mate. Not a day goes by that I look back on that day and wish someone else was standing at the end of that isle. While we may but heads and have our ups and downs there is no one else I would rather ride this roller coaster with.


25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page