top of page
  • Cassie Camara

Summer Activity List - Toddlers



I don't know about you but I am the type of person who loves to have their calendar full. Since becoming a mom I find that even more so. I find that when I have an activity planned for me and the kids that it helps get us up and out of the house and in good spirits. Whether it is an activity that requires us to leave the house or stay in, having something planned and prepared ahead of time is always helpful.


That is why I am bringing you my Summer Activity List for Toddlers. Don't worry, have a baby? I got you covered too click here to view my Summer Activity List for Infants.


Let's start with some of my must have items for summer fun and some peaceful mommy time. All of these items will grow with your children and should last you multiple summers.



  1. activity tray - we have an active world tray from Scholar's Choice and it is a great item to help keep your kiddos all year around. There are endless opportunities for play in an active world tray. From Ice painting to creating a dinosaur land for your child to explore. What I love most is that the tray keeps activities contained and clean up easy. Throughout the summer I will be posting different activities that can be completed in an active world tray so stay tuned.

  2. swimming pool -- whether you have a small kiddo pool or an in-ground pool this is a must have for me. My kiddo's both love playing in the water and it can keep them distracted for hours. Pools are great for a hot day to keep everyone cool. They are also helpful if you are doing a messy outdoor activity because you can use the kiddie pool as a tub to wash everyone off before coming inside. A kiddie pool can also double as an active world tray if you wanted.

  3. water table - we purchased a water table for Lily when she was 6 months old and she still continues to enjoy it. We have one where water goes on one side and sand in the other. Again a great way to keep the kiddos cool this summer and I love that it will grow with them.

Now for my activity suggestions for toddlers:

  • Kids Bowl Free at Splistville - Splitsville offers a program for kids under the age of 16 during the summer can bowl free if you register at the link I provided above. Great summer fun for rainy days!

  • Attend the free Hamilton Public Library events. If you visit your local library you can pick up a summer activity guide which lists all their free programming and activities for the summer. They have fire truck visits, theme days, story time and so much more! Not from Hamilton? Check your local library to see if they have any activities going on throughout the summer.

  • water gun fight

  • teach child how to ride a bike

  • hopscotch

  • fly a kite

  • visit a farm - one of our favourite local farms to visit is Triple C Farm

  • ice cube painting

  • play in a kiddie pool

  • visit a splash pad

  • play hide and seek

  • go to the zoo

  • water balloon fight

  • go see a movie as a family either at movie theater or Drive in

  • go garage sale hopping & let your child purchase something fun!

  • make popsicles

  • Visit the Royal Botanical Gardens

  • Have a picnic

  • Go on a hike and look for sticks, rocks, etc and make a craft with them

  • Setup and outdoor obstacle course

  • Let them help you wash your car. Lily loves this right now and when its too much to wash our car we let her wash her car.



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page